Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
These turned out great. Very versatile - used them for burger buns, sandwiches and with butter as a dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toni
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Family and Work Favourite. I stuff mine with ham and pineapple as well as hamburger, bacon and pizza sauce and of course cheese in them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Mine did not rise, but our ac is set at 72 or lower. I tried heating the oven and turning it off and letting them rise for over a hour. Even turned oven light on for 30 mins. Still did not try to rise. They did rise a little when I cooked them. I used brown sugar (double the amount) and followed the other directions, even the 3 mins first step. Loved them, but wished they were fluffier. Almost as good as Kings HW rolls ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
First time ever making bread and I nailed it! Was a little unsure if how long to let it rise but out turned it great. Used these with the black bean veggie burger recipe and loved it. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcela
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I made these and they are delicious! The only thing I changed was that I added buttermilk instead of regular milk because I didn't have any. They were sooo soft and taste really good. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
So easy!! Will definitely be making these again, and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was hosting a BBQ last night and wanted a gourmet burger bun but didn't want to pay for 20 gourmet buns at the store. This recipe was an absolute hit! No one could believe that I made the buns. They worked out perfectly. I used my kitchen aid mixer and let the dough stand for longer than 10 mins (closer to 45). I then punched it down and formed it into rolls. I pushed down the rolls twice before baking so they would not be too round. I agree the flavour of these may not be ideal for a roll, but they were awesome burger buns. Very happy with this recipe!! I used a combo of bread flour and all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katieb23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This goes down in history as one of my biggest cooking tragedies of all time. To be fair with the rating, I changed an ingredient. I used "bread flour" instead of "all purpose flour". That must have been the problem. Please use this review as a "what NOT to do" with this recipe. Here is what you shouldn't do: I used bread flour instead of AP flour because that is what I had. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I used the regular attachment (don't know what it's called) to mix in step one until creamy as recipe suggested for 3 minutes. Then I switched it to the dough hook as I proceeded with step 2. I let it mix/knead for about 5+ minutes. The dough was BEAUTIFUL and easy to work with. I thought everything was going great. I followed the rest of directions exactly. The buns came out looking like hockey pucks and RAW. I put them back in the oven for a total of THIRTY MINUTES!!!! They weren't burnt, but still FLAT and raw and doughy in the middle. What a tragedy. They were disgusting. I make breads all of the time. I can only assume that the bread flour and using my mixer were TERRIBLE mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very easy and tasty indeed... Although I've replaced 1/2 of the oil with some (leftover!) melted butter and they turned out divine! I'll be making them again (and again and again!) and try them with some whole grain flour too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
. I have made it 3 times in 3 days doubling We had them with our clam chowder soup, chili, as sandwiches for lunch and with burgers. I have had to chase my husband and teenage boys out of the kitchen, they can't resist warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States