Tasty Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made these for my family after the holidays and they were a big hit. The buckwheat taste is very subtle. The pancake's texture and consistency are light and fluffy. I made the recipe almost exactly as called for, but substituted 1 Tablespoon of Xylitol sugar from the health food store and only 1 Tablespoon of dark honey to accommodate diabetic family members. Good enough to pass the most discriminating palate when served with warm applesauce with a touch of cinammon and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These are so delicious...I've made them over and over again, just as the recipes says and they turn out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My husband and I both loved these pancakes! They turned out with great texture and flavor. I used spelt flour instead of the all-purpose, and only used 1 T. of oil. We've been looking for a good multigrain pancake recipe and this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
very good recipe......reminded my dad of his younger years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Unfortunately I did not know to let the batter sit for a while (or overnight) before making the pancakes. They were good enough to try again. I love all the healthy ingredients. I substituted Smart Balance oil for the safflower. UPDATE- I've made these several times now and love them. I do a double batch, cook them between two pans on the stove to speed things up and freeze them. Letting the batter sit makes for a fluffy pancake. Beautiful and tasty,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I am so glad I found this recipe! I am always trying to find easy healthy recipes to feed my family and this one is a winner. I used soy milk instead of regular and I doubled the recipe and forgot to double the last three ingredients and it still came out great (the batter was a tad thick). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was so delicious! I've given up white flour, so I used 1/2 cup buckwheat, and 1/2 cup whole wheat, and they came out fluffy and perfect! I'll use this recipe from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These are a very tasty way to get your whole grains. My 3 and 5 year olds loved them! I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used half whole wheat flour and half buckwheat flour, which tasted great. I also reduced the oil by half. For added protein, I added about 2 Tbsp of ground almonds to the batter. I made a double batch and froze the extras; a double batch makes about 20 pancakes. Putting some fresh grated apple in the batter would also be a nice addition that I'll try next time. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Loved this recipe. Dropped the white flour and used buckwheat in it's place. It made just enough for two adults. People are right that the batter changes as it sits, but that only takes 10-15 minutes to happen. Tasted great with real maple syrup. Also good with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States