Tasty Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
These are so good! My hubby adds a couple Tbs. of sugar to give it sweetness. We just used normal canola oil though. The buckwheat gave it a nice crunch though! Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added a 1/2 tsp. of salt and used buttermilk. I made no other changes. It's best when using oatmeal or wheat flour that you make the batter beforehand and let it sit and soak up some of the liquid. I was cautious and ran the wisk through the dry ingredients before adding the wet, then stirred the batter until just incorporated. These pancakes were light and fluffy with a slight nutty texture. Very good. You couldn't tell they were healthy. My kids and I loved them. I'm so making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Easy and very tasty. My children loved them! The baking powder makes them really fluffy, so don't omit it! I did on accident and poured the 1st batter in the pan, realized my mistake, and corrected it. The 1st were flat and hard the rest with the bp in were lighter and fluffier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These are a very tasty way to get your whole grains. My 3 and 5 year olds loved them! I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used half whole wheat flour and half buckwheat flour, which tasted great. I also reduced the oil by half. For added protein, I added about 2 Tbsp of ground almonds to the batter. I made a double batch and froze the extras; a double batch makes about 20 pancakes. Putting some fresh grated apple in the batter would also be a nice addition that I'll try next time. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Loved this recipe. Dropped the white flour and used buckwheat in it's place. It made just enough for two adults. People are right that the batter changes as it sits, but that only takes 10-15 minutes to happen. Tasted great with real maple syrup. Also good with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
They were good and had good fluffiness. Adding mashed bananas or applesauce would be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
very good recipe......reminded my dad of his younger years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My husband and I both loved these pancakes! They turned out with great texture and flavor. I used spelt flour instead of the all-purpose, and only used 1 T. of oil. We've been looking for a good multigrain pancake recipe and this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made these for my family after the holidays and they were a big hit. The buckwheat taste is very subtle. The pancake's texture and consistency are light and fluffy. I made the recipe almost exactly as called for, but substituted 1 Tablespoon of Xylitol sugar from the health food store and only 1 Tablespoon of dark honey to accommodate diabetic family members. Good enough to pass the most discriminating palate when served with warm applesauce with a touch of cinammon and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States