Tasty Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These are a very tasty way to get your whole grains. My 3 and 5 year olds loved them! I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used half whole wheat flour and half buckwheat flour, which tasted great. I also reduced the oil by half. For added protein, I added about 2 Tbsp of ground almonds to the batter. I made a double batch and froze the extras; a double batch makes about 20 pancakes. Putting some fresh grated apple in the batter would also be a nice addition that I'll try next time. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Loved this recipe. Dropped the white flour and used buckwheat in it's place. It made just enough for two adults. People are right that the batter changes as it sits, but that only takes 10-15 minutes to happen. Tasted great with real maple syrup. Also good with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
They were good and had good fluffiness. Adding mashed bananas or applesauce would be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
very good recipe......reminded my dad of his younger years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My husband and I both loved these pancakes! They turned out with great texture and flavor. I used spelt flour instead of the all-purpose, and only used 1 T. of oil. We've been looking for a good multigrain pancake recipe and this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made these for my family after the holidays and they were a big hit. The buckwheat taste is very subtle. The pancake's texture and consistency are light and fluffy. I made the recipe almost exactly as called for, but substituted 1 Tablespoon of Xylitol sugar from the health food store and only 1 Tablespoon of dark honey to accommodate diabetic family members. Good enough to pass the most discriminating palate when served with warm applesauce with a touch of cinammon and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These are so delicious...I've made them over and over again, just as the recipes says and they turn out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I wish these would have tasted more strongly of buckwheat, but they were solid pancakes nonetheless. They were very dense, but didn't cook up raw in the middle. I didn't add the full amount of oil, and I only let the batter sit for maybe 5 minutes and they still had some puff to them anyways. I might use 1/2 WW and 1/2 buckwheat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Good! Added a bit of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States