Tasty Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
An excellent pancake recipe. We use water instead of milk and it does not alter the taste. It has become our Saturday morning favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe is for those who aren't necessarily die-hard buckwheat pancake lovers! The pancakes bake up light and fluffy and the taste is mild, but if buckwheat flavor is what you crave - look for a recipe that incorporates a greater amount of buckwheat flour. Real buckwehat pancakes normally do not rise as light and fluffy. but you'll get that great, old-fashioned buckwheat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I have tried other versions of Buckwheat pancakes, but this is the best I've tasted. Light, fluffy, tasty, and can be healthy! For a healthier version use all organic ingredients if you can. Use whole grain flour. Replace the white flour with more buckwheat. Replace the safflower oil with virgin, cold pressed coconut oil, use whole grain oatmeal (e.g. McCann's Quick and Easy "Steel Cut" instant oatmeal has not been pulverized, thus a lower hypoglycemic index), and use raw honey. For improved flavor add tsp. of Vanilla. Then of course use real butter and organic pure maple syrup as the coupe de grace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a delicious recipe! I chose it because it used whole wheat flour. Instead of using all-purpose flour, I used another 1/4 c. buckwheat flour. I was not disappointed! Instead of honey I used granulated fructose. This mixes up easily in the bowl and cooks well in a cast iron skillet. Fluffy and light. We've already made this recipe more than once, and haven't changed a thing... because this recipe is perfect "as is"! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very tasty. I might add a pinch of salt next time. I made mine with fresh blueberries and they were so good. The batter only rested for about 10 minutes and they were light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This recipe is so very close to my dad's recipe, I had to try it. They're great! Delicious, nutty flavour with a bit of a crunch... much better than boring old buttermilk pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonsay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used 1/2 c buckwheat & 1/2 c light spelt flour instead. Substituted with almond milk. They turned out great! Will add ground flax meal & blueberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious! I eliminated the white flour, increased the buckwheat to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
These are so good! My hubby adds a couple Tbs. of sugar to give it sweetness. We just used normal canola oil though. The buckwheat gave it a nice crunch though! Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added a 1/2 tsp. of salt and used buttermilk. I made no other changes. It's best when using oatmeal or wheat flour that you make the batter beforehand and let it sit and soak up some of the liquid. I was cautious and ran the wisk through the dry ingredients before adding the wet, then stirred the batter until just incorporated. These pancakes were light and fluffy with a slight nutty texture. Very good. You couldn't tell they were healthy. My kids and I loved them. I'm so making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States