Tasty Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was so delicious! I've given up white flour, so I used 1/2 cup buckwheat, and 1/2 cup whole wheat, and they came out fluffy and perfect! I'll use this recipe from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Unfortunately I did not know to let the batter sit for a while (or overnight) before making the pancakes. They were good enough to try again. I love all the healthy ingredients. I substituted Smart Balance oil for the safflower. UPDATE- I've made these several times now and love them. I do a double batch, cook them between two pans on the stove to speed things up and freeze them. Letting the batter sit makes for a fluffy pancake. Beautiful and tasty,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Loved this recipe. Dropped the white flour and used buckwheat in it's place. It made just enough for two adults. People are right that the batter changes as it sits, but that only takes 10-15 minutes to happen. Tasted great with real maple syrup. Also good with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I have tried other versions of Buckwheat pancakes, but this is the best I've tasted. Light, fluffy, tasty, and can be healthy! For a healthier version use all organic ingredients if you can. Use whole grain flour. Replace the white flour with more buckwheat. Replace the safflower oil with virgin, cold pressed coconut oil, use whole grain oatmeal (e.g. McCann's Quick and Easy "Steel Cut" instant oatmeal has not been pulverized, thus a lower hypoglycemic index), and use raw honey. For improved flavor add tsp. of Vanilla. Then of course use real butter and organic pure maple syrup as the coupe de grace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added a 1/2 tsp. of salt and used buttermilk. I made no other changes. It's best when using oatmeal or wheat flour that you make the batter beforehand and let it sit and soak up some of the liquid. I was cautious and ran the wisk through the dry ingredients before adding the wet, then stirred the batter until just incorporated. These pancakes were light and fluffy with a slight nutty texture. Very good. You couldn't tell they were healthy. My kids and I loved them. I'm so making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I love these and frequently make them for breakfast. They're so easy to make and I use only 1 Tbsp oil because that's really all you need and they still won't stick. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These are a very tasty way to get your whole grains. My 3 and 5 year olds loved them! I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used half whole wheat flour and half buckwheat flour, which tasted great. I also reduced the oil by half. For added protein, I added about 2 Tbsp of ground almonds to the batter. I made a double batch and froze the extras; a double batch makes about 20 pancakes. Putting some fresh grated apple in the batter would also be a nice addition that I'll try next time. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I used brown sugar instead of honey and made up bags for gift baskets at Christmas. Everyone loved these pancakes. Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Good! Added a bit of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Good simple base recipe. I used 1/2 buckwheat and half whole wheat flours, used regular sugar instead of honey, coconut oil for the oil, and added a dash of salt. Came out nicely. I think I'll use the honey next time and add some ground almonds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States