Tasty Breaded Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Really good! I've been trying to find seitan recipes since I made a bunch of it. I thought the flavors worked really well together, and I didn't have any trouble with the breading. It stayed on fine. I added a bit of Panko breadcrumbs, but other than that I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueshark77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is GOOD! I'm not a great cook, and most recipes I try only turn out okay, but this was an exception. It was great the first time around. I ate it with brown rice. I agree that it's not enough for 4 servings, though - it's about two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Really good recipe! I added some Panko bread crumbs to the dry mixture and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I'm a new vegetarian and I loved this recipe. I took another reviewers suggestion and doubled the yeast and spice mixture and I used soy sauce instead of tamari and served it with rice. It was really good. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very tasty! Yes, the kids did like to dip it in bbq sauce, but I liked mine just as is with some rice on the side. We also had some roasted butternut squash and sweet potato, and some sauted swiss chard/mushroom combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made seitan today for the first time and wanted to make something with it that was not stir-fry (since I didn't want to wait on rice). This was fantastic! I was running low on soy sauce so I used Bragg's instead, and I only had about 1T of nutritional yeast so I just used all-purpose flour to make up the remainder of the 1/3C. I sliced the seitan into strips about 3/4" thick. The breading stayed on without any problems -- you have to get the oil hot enough is what I've found. My seitan was a little spongy so I was worried they would stay spongy, but nope, they fried up nice and crispy! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe very closely, except that I doubled the breading mixture (actually needed about 1-1/2 times the amount) and used olive oil for frying instead of vegetable oil. I loved it. Who needs chicken nuggets when you can have these? Thank you, veggigoddess, for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I worship this Seitan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
A little too cumin-y. I'm thinking I would like to try the baking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Just a note to those who couldn't get the breading to stay on. Put 2 Tbsps of mayonnaise into a bag along with the seitan and squeeze it around until seitan is coated. Dip into bread crumbs, then fry or bake. If you're a vegan, use one of the many eggless mayonnaise brands sold at health food stores like Trader Joe's and health food co-ops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States