Tasty Breaded Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Awesome! Our first foray into seitan and we LOVED it! We made a couple of small changes. Nutritional yeast at our health food store was very expensive so used Italian bread crumbs, but still added the other spices. Followed other reviewers' suggestion to mix with mayo but added soy sauce to it for flavor. Finally, added cornstarch and black pepper to package broth for a sauce. Served over brown rice with a salad. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
YUM!!! Very Delicious!! You just need to double the dry mixture to cover it all but really tasty and will make this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
absolutely amazing! I used parsley instead of coriander and soy sauce instead of tamari. I ate it with bbq sauce and mashed potatoes, made a great dinner. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Delicious! Didn't know anything that sounds so weird could taste so amazing. I keep making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Five motherf*ckin stars! This sh$t was easy and tasty as hell! some tofu, its all about seitan! I added a teaspoon of cayenne and oregano to this recipe and it was like someone punched you in ya mouth, in a good way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
For what it is, this is a GREAT recipe. Tasty, easy, and makes the outside of the seitan crispy, almost like fond on beef. My gripe is that it's not like breading. I wanted something more like breaded chicken fingers, and thought something magical would happen to the nutritional yeast when it hit the hot oil, allowing it to be converted into breading as the recipe name suggests. After tasting the first delicious batch, I added breadcrumbs to achieve the desired effect. Is there a way to rename the recipe so it's "crispy" instead of "breaded"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
changed my rating from 4 to 5 because last time I tried it with tofu and this time seitan. No comparison -it's amazing with seitan. My husband's new favorite dish. Oh yeah, cut all the seasonings in half for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
So good! I used homemade seitans and did as some other reviewers suggested and doubled the nutritional yeast. Instead of the tamari, I dipped the seitans in a mixture of Bragg's liquid aminos (practically the same thing, flavor-wise) and beaten egg to make the mixture stick better. The finished product tasted like school cafeteria chicken fried steak (in a good way), so next time I'm going to make a gravy and mashed potatoes to go with it. This is definitely the best breaded seitans recipe I've tried. *I have since tried serving these with gravy and mashed potatoes, and they are really good. To make a good chicken-fried-steak-style gravy for them, reserve the oil after cooking the seitans and just whisk in and cook 1/4 c. flour, add vegetable broth until the flour is wet enough to completely dissolve, and then add 4 cups milk. Bring the gravy to a simmer and cook for about 7 minutes until thickened. Season with kosher salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Very tasty coating. I will try it on other things like tofu and tempeh. I am fairly new to making seitan, and am not sure I am doing it right. I had frozen some home-made seitan (I can't find it in any store where I live) which I had sliced a little too thin for this recipe, I think. I had to add some broth to put moisture back in. Will try again with thicker pieces next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Heyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States