Tasty Breaded Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Really good! My first experience with seitan. Used a homemade version off a different site, but this crisped up and was very chicken patty-ish on a bun with low sugar ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This my first time cooking Seitan and it was really good and very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was awesome! I put it in toasted pita pockets with lettuce, tomato, hummus and a splash of lemon juice, super yummy! We all had 3rds ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Reminded me of soy sauce pork chops. The taste was good. Only reason I gave this 4 stars was because the tamari was overpowering. Next time I would like to mix with equal parts tamari and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Turned out really nicely. I upped the spices (cuz that the way my family likes everything) and I cooked it in extra oil until it was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed each and every bite. I took someones suggestion and put egg into the tamari sauce. The breading stayed together nicely. I also added onion powder and cayenne powder to the breading mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Surprisingly good! My non-veg husband approved and said this could be added to the "make-again" list. Definitely not enough for 4 people. The two of us ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I recently watched a cooking show that featured seitan. I had never tried it, but thought I would test it out and see how my family liked it. My kids and husband all thought it tasted pretty good. (They all said they would prefer chicken cooked this way, but they liked this too.) All have rejected tofu and other soy meat replacements. Thanks for a tasty way to introduce to seitan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was very yum, although I did have a few differences. One, I used egg/milk before I dipped in breading as I am not vegan and I think it might stick better with the egg and milk mixture. Also, I used bread crumbs rather than nutritional yeast (although I seasoned it exactly the same.) Finally, I probably had more oil in the pan than a measly 2 tblspoons (I had about an 1/8-1/4 inch in the bottom of the pan). As someone else said, it tastes a lot like 'chicken fried steak. We used "Sweet Earth" seitan and it stayed quite juicy and tender inside the very crispy and light breading. All in all a WIN WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I only had tempeh in the fridge so i tried this recipe on that and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States