Tasty Baked Mac n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made this mac n cheese bake per recipe and my family loved it. My wife and mother-in-law and oldest daughter thought it was great as is. My youngest and I, both charter members of BLAm (Bacon Lovers of America) will insist upon the smokey, cured goodness of pig candy being in the recipe next time. I think I might add a little fresh thyme as well as bacon next time I make this, and I will make it again. I think it is a very good rendition of a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This mac & cheese is incredible! You have no idea what a pain it is for me to make mac & cheese here....2-3 different kinds to make everyone happy. This one pleased everyone! Yay! The only issue I had was the amount of butter. I, literally, poured 1/2c of butter off when it came out of the oven. I'm going to try halving the butter next time. That's the only thing holding this back from being a 5 star recipe for me. Yum! Thank you!!! EDIT: I now make this on a regular basis & use 1 stick of butter only. To us, it's perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We really enjoyed this. I followed Lisa's recommendation and cut back on the butter. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! This recipe prompted me to write a review, which I rarely do - it's that good! I made only a few changes. I used only 1/3 stick of butter because that's what I had, and it was just the right amount. I also used shredded Colby Jack and mild Cheddar, and I used lite sour cream instead of regular. It came out AMAZING and both my husband and mom loved it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Thanks to Nadine M of the Buzz for recommending this! This is the front runner in the Mac n Cheese competition. :) 'Really like the ease of prep with this. I'm tempted to say it's "Guy-easy," but that might be "nice." :D The only thing all tasters agreed on that would be done next time is the put all the cheese in it, not so much on top. I didn't do the sauce on the bottom. 'Just mixed it together & greased the pan. I used 1 stick, 1/2c butter, adding 2T to the pasta; only sharp cheese. My cream cheese was previously frozen so a little funny textured (looked like what Greek yogurt tastes like, if ya know what I mean. :D) so I added 4 ounces, half the block. The cayenne isn't too hot; but, for little kids, you might want to have half without or less. PS This is guy-easy! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this amazing dish for my son's first birthday party, and we expected around 40 guests so I doubled the ingredients - except the milk. I raised the oven to 400 degrees and baked for 25 minutes. Not only did the kids eat every last bite, but the parents asked for the recipe! It was definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I made this last night and it was wonderful, used the cheeses I had on hand, mozzarella and sharp cheddar. This was so easy, no roux to make, no waiting for the cheese to melt. I mixed it up in the afternoon, put it in the fridge til evening, and baked according to directions. I won't be making any other mac and cheese recipe from now on...Thank you Eva
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe N Peggysue Pardike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My family and I thought it was pretty good! It wasn't the best thing ever, but it was enjoyable. It was pretty thin at first, but thickened up nicely, though it was a little runny. I did eyeball the cheese, as what the recipe called for looked a little slim, and if I make it again I'll add more noodles, it was a bit thick. It was yummy, though, thanks Eva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eponine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
The cheesiest, creamiest, yummiest mac 'n cheese ever!! My three tiny cheese heads love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I just made this for the first time tonight. I followed the recipe to the t. It does have a nice taste to it, but its not as creamy as I would like. I don't think I would make this again...sorry.I like my mac n cheese very cheesy n creamy, that's jus me tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States