Tastes-Like-Beef Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I never thought I'd ever give a recipe a bad rating, but this? Awful, awful, awful. I don't like ground turkey to begin with, but after reading this recipe, I was hopeful - hey, maybe this is a way I can eat it. Negative! The burgers STILL tasted like turkey - absolutely nothing on earth could get rid of that awful texture - I could have added a triple amount of the other ingredients and it wouldn't have helped. If you like ground turkey, you'll probably enjoy this, but it does NOT taste like beef by any stretch of the imagination. You have been warned! *shuddering*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I like these burgers better than beef! Even my husband, who is a big beef eater, likes them. Our 19 year old daughter, who eats very little meat, will eat these burgers. I don't keep recipes unless they are 'two thumbs up' (too many good ones to bother with so/so) and this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I loved these as a healthy alternative to hamburgers. My husband wasn't as fond of them though,didn't like the crumbly texture and didn't like the onion soup mix in them, said it gave it a funny aftertaste. By after eating two of them, he said they kind of grew on him. I made them in my George Foreman grill which worked out great. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
These didn't taste like beef, but it made a great alternative to the regular turkey burger. My husband loved it, and he doesn't care for turkey burgers. I definitely recommend this one, it was also quick and easy for a fast supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
These burgers were so-so. I usually like the taste of steak sauce and onion soup mix on their own, but mixed together they just weren't too great. I might try these again, but I'll omit the steak sauce and hope for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
VERY SALTY! I like the idea but I think next time I'll try with only 1/2 the soup packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I thought these were delicious. They were a bit salty so I will use half the onion soup packet next time as someone else suggested, which is what I should have done the first time. Otherwise, I will definetly make these again because I'm always looking for lower calorie alternatives to my favorite foods and I thought these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe doesn't taste like beef at all. It tastes like a turkey burger with steak sauce. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Doesn't taste remotely like beef unless you use the full fat ground turkey, and then you might as well use beef. If you're trying to use the lf turkey breast, you're better off using ground garlic and onion powder instead of the onion soup. This just kind of tasted like onion soup with ground turkey in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I think the name of this recipe may mislead people but it's a very good recipe. I only used one package of soup mix to 2 lbs. of ground turkey because I didn't want it too salty or overflavored. My family loves turkey burgers and these were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States