Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the coleslaw recipe I've been searching for on AR! I'm picky about coleslaws and will try different ones, but I've been longing for a go-to classic style recipe and now I've found it! I used 1/4 cup Hellman's lite mayo, 1/4 cup lite Miracle whip, and 1/4 cup buttermilk (plus a couple of extra Tbsp. for good measure). I used light sour cream and left the rest the ingredients the same. I tossed the dressing with the coleslaw mix and let it chill in the fridge for about 4 hours. It was so creamy and so good. It tasted just like the kind I've gotten at some seafood restaurants along side really good crab cakes. I however chose to serve this with fried chicken and buttermilk biscuits for a kind of KFC night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Great coleslaw. Easy, easy, easy to make with ordinary ingredients on hand. I made it exactly as the recipe says with no changes. Came out about half the price of deli coleslaw. The downside is that you shouldn't serve this immediately like you can deli. You need to let this chill a few hours. It looks kind of dry and not too creamy when you first mix it up. I was tempted to make a second batch of the dressing but don't! This changes dramatically into a nice creamy slaw after a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I LOVE THIS SLAW! This is the perfect coleslaw. Very creamy. When making this recipe, you will think that there won't be enough of the sauce. But upon sitting for a bit, the slaw "relaxes" and it's perfect. Only takes about 1/2 hour for it to relax. Mine didn't get runny, even the next day and I followed the recipe to a T. Update: This has become my "go to" coleslaw recipe. I consider myself a coleslaw snob and I just can't get enough of this slaw. I now even leave out the sour cream and just use about 1 1/4- 1/2 cup mayo with the rest of the ingredients staying the same. INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I have been in search of the perfect cole slaw recipe for a long time and I tried this one a while back. My husband and daughter just loved it! They are very particular about their slaw and I was relieved to finally have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This slaw is yummy and quick- no chopping necessary, which is a plus. For an even flavor, I suggest lowfat mayonnaise and regular sour cream. You don't want to just taste mayo. For lovers of mayo slaw, make as is, but if you like a taste of vinegar in a creamy slaw, use a bit less sugar and 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar. Either way, I recommend adding black pepper and paprika for extra flavor enhancement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I have made this salad many, many times over the past few years (I got it when it came out in the magazine). It is always a hit, It is less sweet and more savory. I serve it as a side dish, or on top of pulled pork sandwiches (a pork roast cooked in the crock pot all day with a bottle of bbq sauce) SUPER EASY AND EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was the BEST!!!! We all wanted to give it 10 stars...my 18 month old ate almost all of it...I did however add the following... more seasonsalt and mustard plus cayenne, garlic pwd, onion pwd, paprika, white wine vinegar, and some ground black pepper. But this was an awesome starter recipe...I have been asked to make this for all family gatherings now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Very easy and has a great taste with very little prep time. I fixed a whole bag of shredded cabbage/carrots and there was only 2 of us and there is so little left we should be ashamed. This is a keeper and I will continue to use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Since I'm on Weight Watchers, I made this with FF Mayo, FF Sour Cream, and Splenda -- and loved the results. I love cole slaw and only indulge occasionally due to the fat & calories. I will make this often and keep it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States