Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Great coleslaw. Easy, easy, easy to make with ordinary ingredients on hand. I made it exactly as the recipe says with no changes. Came out about half the price of deli coleslaw. The downside is that you shouldn't serve this immediately like you can deli. You need to let this chill a few hours. It looks kind of dry and not too creamy when you first mix it up. I was tempted to make a second batch of the dressing but don't! This changes dramatically into a nice creamy slaw after a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I have made this salad many, many times over the past few years (I got it when it came out in the magazine). It is always a hit, It is less sweet and more savory. I serve it as a side dish, or on top of pulled pork sandwiches (a pork roast cooked in the crock pot all day with a bottle of bbq sauce) SUPER EASY AND EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Very good recipe, definitely easy to make. I didn't have any sour cream, so I increased the mayo to 1 Cup. I think I'll try this again with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I add chopped apples and raisins and always get many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I have been in search of the perfect cole slaw recipe for a long time and I tried this one a while back. My husband and daughter just loved it! They are very particular about their slaw and I was relieved to finally have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
We celebrated Australia Day today and I made this cole slaw for our barbecue. It was nice. I didn't have sour cream, but used fat free yogurt in place of it. It worked perfect. Less calories and a very nice flavor. My husband thought it was yummy, so I'll plan to make this part of every barbecue I have or go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I am updating my rating from 4 stars to 5. We like this coleslaw so much (without celery salt) that I make it almost once a week. I now usually use sugar rather than sugar substitute and in this recipe I think it makes a big difference. This was my first review: I tried lots of recipes for coleslaw dressing looking for one I liked. This is it! I use sugar substitute and no celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Great! Super quick and easy! Wonderful flavor - just simple home cooking, nothing exotic or unexpected. When you want a good basic recipe you can count on - this is the one. Easy to increase or decrease amounts too. I squeezed in a little lemon juice for added tang but it certainly wasn't necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This was excellent. I made it for large group last night. I used 3 bags of slaw so I doubled the dressing recipe. It was very creamy. I think the next time I make it using 3 bags of slaw I won't double the dressing. There weren't any left overs and I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States