Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is the coleslaw recipe I've been searching for on AR! I'm picky about coleslaws and will try different ones, but I've been longing for a go-to classic style recipe and now I've found it! I used 1/4 cup Hellman's lite mayo, 1/4 cup lite Miracle whip, and 1/4 cup buttermilk (plus a couple of extra Tbsp. for good measure). I used light sour cream and left the rest the ingredients the same. I tossed the dressing with the coleslaw mix and let it chill in the fridge for about 4 hours. It was so creamy and so good. It tasted just like the kind I've gotten at some seafood restaurants along side really good crab cakes. I however chose to serve this with fried chicken and buttermilk biscuits for a kind of KFC night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I am not a fan of coleslaw but this is really good..served at a party and got rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was a big hit at dinner tonight. I didn't have mustard and it was still really good. The seasoned salt gives it a very diferent taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
If you havent tried a bit of horseradish to this sweet and tangy coleslaw, please do. I found that the bite is great with the tang, and also a little lemon pepper gives it passazzzzz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I LOVE THIS SLAW! This is the perfect coleslaw. Very creamy. When making this recipe, you will think that there won't be enough of the sauce. But upon sitting for a bit, the slaw "relaxes" and it's perfect. Only takes about 1/2 hour for it to relax. Mine didn't get runny, even the next day and I followed the recipe to a T. Update: This has become my "go to" coleslaw recipe. I consider myself a coleslaw snob and I just can't get enough of this slaw. I now even leave out the sour cream and just use about 1 1/4- 1/2 cup mayo with the rest of the ingredients staying the same. INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the best coleslaw I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIETTE77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I was a little concerned that the sour cream would not tastes good but it was delicious. The dry mustard must kick up the flavor. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Was a great coleslaw recipe. My family liked it and we will use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very good! The only thing I did different was I was out of seasoned and celery salt so I made my own seasoned salt and it still turned out awesome. Also ran out of dry mustard one time and still was great. Have made many times now :) You can also cut up and make your own coleslaw mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Downsville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was very good--my husband usually only likes KFC coleslaw, but he liked this. I ended up using about a teaspoon of prepared mustard instead of ground (I didn't have any ground!), and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States