Tasso Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I smoked a five pound blade in shoulder roast last weekend. It took less than 4 hours to get the internal temperature to 160 degrees. I pulled it off of the smoker and it was the best, juiciest ham I've ever had. Tasso is traditionally smoked until it is so dry and concentrated that it's rarely eaten by itself. I was able to get Morton meat cure at our grocery near the salt. I wasn't able to find smoked paprika, so I added plain. And I used Mrs. Butterworth's maple flavored syrup instead of honey. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Made this for large brunch. It was absolutely wonderful. I could not find curing salt and was told by butcher that I could use salt without iodine which I did with success. Will make this recipe again and again and have already shared the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Hubby is a big grill/smoker kind of guy. He has tried several tasso recipes and this is by far the best!! He makes his own tasso to use in several Cajun recipes that call for tasso as it isn't something we can find in the stores here in WV. The meat is tender and flavorful. Use the bones to cook your favorite greens in....yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I prepared this for in between holiday meals. It came out great with a wonderful smokey/salty flavor. If you need curing salts they are available on line or if you have a friend that lives in either a farming or hunting community, you won't find it in large metro areas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
this was wonderful, but tasted slightly on the salty side. The meat was tender and juicy and made great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I smoke a lot of pork shoulders for pulled pork . I tried this recipe following exactly for time and ingredients . It was a FANTASTIC change ! Everyone loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abejen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I have done this receipe with deer roast. Turned out good. The Tasso I grew up eating though had File powder in the rub. So I add that to the rub. In a pinch, I have added liquid smoke to the rub and roasted the ham in the oven. Turned out okay. Definitly better slow smoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This has turned into regular item in my house. The only significant change is that I use a whole pork loin. That way it can be put on a meat slicer and makes awesome sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States