Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Delicious! Tasted just like my host mom's in France. I used puff pastry which gave me the flaky crust I was looking to recreate. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic taste! I layered the cheese on top of the tomatoes instead of under them. Great flavor and color combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 20, August 2011. Delicious way to enjoy tomatoes. I didn't measure the mustard, just made sure all of the crust was covered. I didn't have, nor have I heard of herbes de Provence, but when I looked it up, it consisted of: savory, fennel, basil, thyme, lavender and rosemary. I used fresh - thyme, basil, chives & rosemary chopped fine. When I put in one layer of tomatoes too much crust was left, so I made with 2 layers of cheese and 2 layers of tomatoes and 2 layers of fresh herbs. The taste was wonderful but the tomatoes made it a little watery. After dishing out the first piece I drained off the extra juice and it was fine. The slices served up nicely and I will be making again since I have oodles and oodles of tomatoes. Thanks Snackybits for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really, really liked this recipe. It is simple to make and a wonderful use of fresh summer tomatoes. This will definitely make it into my permanent recipe stash and will be brought out every summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Close to paradise! Made 2 in one day. Used cheeses on hand: 1st time, sharp Vermont cheddar; 2nd time, soft mozzarella and 4-cheese Italian blend. Both delicious, but gruyere would be even better. Drained tomatoes on paper towels, and made a couple layers of tomatoes and cheeses the second time, with fresh garden herbs (basil, rosemary, chives, and thyme) throughout, with a few sprinkled on top. Would like to try this recipe with brie. It made a beautiful presentation, and was well-liked by all. The first piece comes out messy, but following slices come out surprisingly neatly, and it's not too liquid-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was great and so easy! I didn't have herbs de provence, so I just added some fresh herbs from my garden. I think the key is to use a great mustard and a great cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is super delicious. I've made tomato tarts from similar recipes before, but the thing that this recipe taught me was to put a layer of cheese on the bottom of the crust--that really improves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Prebake the crust for 10 minutes or it will get soggy. I love Tarte aux Moutarde and it reminds me of my time in Lyon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good tart, but a tad much on the mustard. I also think I'd want something added to this like bacon or sausage, but that's personal preference. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is the exact recipe I was looking for. I worked for a French woman who made this once and i completely forgot how she told me to make it. Instead of olive oil she used vinaigrette, a different cheese (here in Paris it's the cheese in a small clear unmarked package) instead of Swiss, and basil instead of herbs de Provence. I changed it a bit like hers but still a great, easy to make dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States