Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Delicious! Tasted just like my host mom's in France. I used puff pastry which gave me the flaky crust I was looking to recreate. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Close to paradise! Made 2 in one day. Used cheeses on hand: 1st time, sharp Vermont cheddar; 2nd time, soft mozzarella and 4-cheese Italian blend. Both delicious, but gruyere would be even better. Drained tomatoes on paper towels, and made a couple layers of tomatoes and cheeses the second time, with fresh garden herbs (basil, rosemary, chives, and thyme) throughout, with a few sprinkled on top. Would like to try this recipe with brie. It made a beautiful presentation, and was well-liked by all. The first piece comes out messy, but following slices come out surprisingly neatly, and it's not too liquid-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 20, August 2011. Delicious way to enjoy tomatoes. I didn't measure the mustard, just made sure all of the crust was covered. I didn't have, nor have I heard of herbes de Provence, but when I looked it up, it consisted of: savory, fennel, basil, thyme, lavender and rosemary. I used fresh - thyme, basil, chives & rosemary chopped fine. When I put in one layer of tomatoes too much crust was left, so I made with 2 layers of cheese and 2 layers of tomatoes and 2 layers of fresh herbs. The taste was wonderful but the tomatoes made it a little watery. After dishing out the first piece I drained off the extra juice and it was fine. The slices served up nicely and I will be making again since I have oodles and oodles of tomatoes. Thanks Snackybits for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic taste! I layered the cheese on top of the tomatoes instead of under them. Great flavor and color combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really, really liked this recipe. It is simple to make and a wonderful use of fresh summer tomatoes. This will definitely make it into my permanent recipe stash and will be brought out every summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was great and so easy! I didn't have herbs de provence, so I just added some fresh herbs from my garden. I think the key is to use a great mustard and a great cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is super delicious. I've made tomato tarts from similar recipes before, but the thing that this recipe taught me was to put a layer of cheese on the bottom of the crust--that really improves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Prebake the crust for 10 minutes or it will get soggy. I love Tarte aux Moutarde and it reminds me of my time in Lyon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group. Hubby and I both really enjoyed this for lunch today. All of the flavors go together so well and it is a very easy recipe that was fast to throw together with great results. After reading the reviews, I made a couple of small changes. I pre-baked the crust for 10 min at 350 and allowed it to cool for a few min. For the mustard, I used a couple of TBS of Grey Poupon and then mixed in a couple of tsp of stone ground mustard and spread approx 3/4 of that mixture on the crust. I sliced the tomatoes and then placed them all on paper towels for approx 30 min to drain and then proceeded with the recipe. All of these small changes worked out very well in preventing a soggy crust and watery filling. We will definitely make this again very soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good tart, but a tad much on the mustard. I also think I'd want something added to this like bacon or sausage, but that's personal preference. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States