Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic taste! I layered the cheese on top of the tomatoes instead of under them. Great flavor and color combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really, really liked this recipe. It is simple to make and a wonderful use of fresh summer tomatoes. This will definitely make it into my permanent recipe stash and will be brought out every summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was way too mustardy for our tastes. I will probably make again, but will use less mustard. I will also bake the crust a bit before adding the tomatoes and cheese, to keep it from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Delicious! Tasted just like my host mom's in France. I used puff pastry which gave me the flaky crust I was looking to recreate. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Close to paradise! Made 2 in one day. Used cheeses on hand: 1st time, sharp Vermont cheddar; 2nd time, soft mozzarella and 4-cheese Italian blend. Both delicious, but gruyere would be even better. Drained tomatoes on paper towels, and made a couple layers of tomatoes and cheeses the second time, with fresh garden herbs (basil, rosemary, chives, and thyme) throughout, with a few sprinkled on top. Would like to try this recipe with brie. It made a beautiful presentation, and was well-liked by all. The first piece comes out messy, but following slices come out surprisingly neatly, and it's not too liquid-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 20, August 2011. Delicious way to enjoy tomatoes. I didn't measure the mustard, just made sure all of the crust was covered. I didn't have, nor have I heard of herbes de Provence, but when I looked it up, it consisted of: savory, fennel, basil, thyme, lavender and rosemary. I used fresh - thyme, basil, chives & rosemary chopped fine. When I put in one layer of tomatoes too much crust was left, so I made with 2 layers of cheese and 2 layers of tomatoes and 2 layers of fresh herbs. The taste was wonderful but the tomatoes made it a little watery. After dishing out the first piece I drained off the extra juice and it was fine. The slices served up nicely and I will be making again since I have oodles and oodles of tomatoes. Thanks Snackybits for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
5 stars for flavor. This is really quite good. I will prebake the crust a bit the next time I make this because it gets a bit soggy from the tomatoes. I used Grey Poupon coarse mustard and Jarlsburg cheese with my home grown tomatoes and I omitted the olive oil. Thank you, Sackybits for a lovely new recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Gorgeous presentation. Mustard overpowered this and the crust is completely wet from the oils in the mustard and the cheese, and water in the tomatoes. I did deseed and drain the tomatoes a bit first and it still was soggy. Despite the mustard pow, the taste combinations work well together and if you could cut that back, or maybe add a little sugar, and get the crust to stay dry, this would be a winner. Thanks Snackybits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group. Hubby and I both really enjoyed this for lunch today. All of the flavors go together so well and it is a very easy recipe that was fast to throw together with great results. After reading the reviews, I made a couple of small changes. I pre-baked the crust for 10 min at 350 and allowed it to cool for a few min. For the mustard, I used a couple of TBS of Grey Poupon and then mixed in a couple of tsp of stone ground mustard and spread approx 3/4 of that mixture on the crust. I sliced the tomatoes and then placed them all on paper towels for approx 30 min to drain and then proceeded with the recipe. All of these small changes worked out very well in preventing a soggy crust and watery filling. We will definitely make this again very soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. Love the presentation factor. Taste is really good, the creamy cheese, the tart tomato, the earthy herbs and crunchy top crust are wonderful. The bottom crust is a little soft, but overall a wonderful combination of flavors. Daughter commented that we should make this again with different cheeses. I agree. I can't wait for tomorrow to have it for lunch. If there is any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States