Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Gorgeous presentation. Mustard overpowered this and the crust is completely wet from the oils in the mustard and the cheese, and water in the tomatoes. I did deseed and drain the tomatoes a bit first and it still was soggy. Despite the mustard pow, the taste combinations work well together and if you could cut that back, or maybe add a little sugar, and get the crust to stay dry, this would be a winner. Thanks Snackybits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
5 stars for flavor. This is really quite good. I will prebake the crust a bit the next time I make this because it gets a bit soggy from the tomatoes. I used Grey Poupon coarse mustard and Jarlsburg cheese with my home grown tomatoes and I omitted the olive oil. Thank you, Sackybits for a lovely new recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 20, August 2011. Delicious way to enjoy tomatoes. I didn't measure the mustard, just made sure all of the crust was covered. I didn't have, nor have I heard of herbes de Provence, but when I looked it up, it consisted of: savory, fennel, basil, thyme, lavender and rosemary. I used fresh - thyme, basil, chives & rosemary chopped fine. When I put in one layer of tomatoes too much crust was left, so I made with 2 layers of cheese and 2 layers of tomatoes and 2 layers of fresh herbs. The taste was wonderful but the tomatoes made it a little watery. After dishing out the first piece I drained off the extra juice and it was fine. The slices served up nicely and I will be making again since I have oodles and oodles of tomatoes. Thanks Snackybits for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Close to paradise! Made 2 in one day. Used cheeses on hand: 1st time, sharp Vermont cheddar; 2nd time, soft mozzarella and 4-cheese Italian blend. Both delicious, but gruyere would be even better. Drained tomatoes on paper towels, and made a couple layers of tomatoes and cheeses the second time, with fresh garden herbs (basil, rosemary, chives, and thyme) throughout, with a few sprinkled on top. Would like to try this recipe with brie. It made a beautiful presentation, and was well-liked by all. The first piece comes out messy, but following slices come out surprisingly neatly, and it's not too liquid-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Delicious! Tasted just like my host mom's in France. I used puff pastry which gave me the flaky crust I was looking to recreate. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was way too mustardy for our tastes. I will probably make again, but will use less mustard. I will also bake the crust a bit before adding the tomatoes and cheese, to keep it from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really, really liked this recipe. It is simple to make and a wonderful use of fresh summer tomatoes. This will definitely make it into my permanent recipe stash and will be brought out every summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic taste! I layered the cheese on top of the tomatoes instead of under them. Great flavor and color combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States