Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Gorgeous presentation. Mustard overpowered this and the crust is completely wet from the oils in the mustard and the cheese, and water in the tomatoes. I did deseed and drain the tomatoes a bit first and it still was soggy. Despite the mustard pow, the taste combinations work well together and if you could cut that back, or maybe add a little sugar, and get the crust to stay dry, this would be a winner. Thanks Snackybits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
5 stars for flavor. This is really quite good. I will prebake the crust a bit the next time I make this because it gets a bit soggy from the tomatoes. I used Grey Poupon coarse mustard and Jarlsburg cheese with my home grown tomatoes and I omitted the olive oil. Thank you, Sackybits for a lovely new recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 20, August 2011. Delicious way to enjoy tomatoes. I didn't measure the mustard, just made sure all of the crust was covered. I didn't have, nor have I heard of herbes de Provence, but when I looked it up, it consisted of: savory, fennel, basil, thyme, lavender and rosemary. I used fresh - thyme, basil, chives & rosemary chopped fine. When I put in one layer of tomatoes too much crust was left, so I made with 2 layers of cheese and 2 layers of tomatoes and 2 layers of fresh herbs. The taste was wonderful but the tomatoes made it a little watery. After dishing out the first piece I drained off the extra juice and it was fine. The slices served up nicely and I will be making again since I have oodles and oodles of tomatoes. Thanks Snackybits for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Close to paradise! Made 2 in one day. Used cheeses on hand: 1st time, sharp Vermont cheddar; 2nd time, soft mozzarella and 4-cheese Italian blend. Both delicious, but gruyere would be even better. Drained tomatoes on paper towels, and made a couple layers of tomatoes and cheeses the second time, with fresh garden herbs (basil, rosemary, chives, and thyme) throughout, with a few sprinkled on top. Would like to try this recipe with brie. It made a beautiful presentation, and was well-liked by all. The first piece comes out messy, but following slices come out surprisingly neatly, and it's not too liquid-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Delicious! Tasted just like my host mom's in France. I used puff pastry which gave me the flaky crust I was looking to recreate. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was way too mustardy for our tastes. I will probably make again, but will use less mustard. I will also bake the crust a bit before adding the tomatoes and cheese, to keep it from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really, really liked this recipe. It is simple to make and a wonderful use of fresh summer tomatoes. This will definitely make it into my permanent recipe stash and will be brought out every summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic taste! I layered the cheese on top of the tomatoes instead of under them. Great flavor and color combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States