Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was OK. I love mustard but found this way too mustard-y. Maybe it was the mustard I used, but all we could taste and breathe was mustard. It burned my nose. I think 1/2 a cup on the bottom of the pie might have been a little much. It was probably 1/2 an inch thick on the pie crust I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good tart, but a tad much on the mustard. I also think I'd want something added to this like bacon or sausage, but that's personal preference. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Prebake the crust for 10 minutes or it will get soggy. I love Tarte aux Moutarde and it reminds me of my time in Lyon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is super delicious. I've made tomato tarts from similar recipes before, but the thing that this recipe taught me was to put a layer of cheese on the bottom of the crust--that really improves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this for recipe group August 20, 2011. The pie makes a beautiful presentation however the flavors just didn’t work for us. We felt the mustard was too dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was great and so easy! I didn't have herbs de provence, so I just added some fresh herbs from my garden. I think the key is to use a great mustard and a great cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. Love the presentation factor. Taste is really good, the creamy cheese, the tart tomato, the earthy herbs and crunchy top crust are wonderful. The bottom crust is a little soft, but overall a wonderful combination of flavors. Daughter commented that we should make this again with different cheeses. I agree. I can't wait for tomorrow to have it for lunch. If there is any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group. Hubby and I both really enjoyed this for lunch today. All of the flavors go together so well and it is a very easy recipe that was fast to throw together with great results. After reading the reviews, I made a couple of small changes. I pre-baked the crust for 10 min at 350 and allowed it to cool for a few min. For the mustard, I used a couple of TBS of Grey Poupon and then mixed in a couple of tsp of stone ground mustard and spread approx 3/4 of that mixture on the crust. I sliced the tomatoes and then placed them all on paper towels for approx 30 min to drain and then proceeded with the recipe. All of these small changes worked out very well in preventing a soggy crust and watery filling. We will definitely make this again very soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Gorgeous presentation. Mustard overpowered this and the crust is completely wet from the oils in the mustard and the cheese, and water in the tomatoes. I did deseed and drain the tomatoes a bit first and it still was soggy. Despite the mustard pow, the taste combinations work well together and if you could cut that back, or maybe add a little sugar, and get the crust to stay dry, this would be a winner. Thanks Snackybits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
5 stars for flavor. This is really quite good. I will prebake the crust a bit the next time I make this because it gets a bit soggy from the tomatoes. I used Grey Poupon coarse mustard and Jarlsburg cheese with my home grown tomatoes and I omitted the olive oil. Thank you, Sackybits for a lovely new recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States