Tartar Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
The perfect compliment to frozen, bland, breaded fish pattys (our dinner). It really gave the fish sandwiches we had a nice zing! I did have a fresh lemon on hand, which really added to the taste. I also scaled the recipe down to 10 servings, a great plenty if you only need it for one meal. Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup, from the allrecipes website, rounded out a decent, inexpensive, easy, and tasty dinner at our house tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Excellent, I made no changes and this was exactly what I was looking for. After only two hours the flavors had already come together. Now I know I can always have great tartar sauce with very little notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Exactly what I was looking for. I've never had store bought tartar sauce, I always just mixed dill relish with mayo. I wanted to find something with a little more complex flavor. Family loved it. I will definatly keep using this recipe. Scaled recipe way down and used dill relish instead of chopping a pickle. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I scaled down the recipe, easily, to four servings. It was wonderful! I even used "light" mayo to make it healthier. Tasted very similiar to Captain D's Tartar sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was awesome. I do not like tartar with sweet pickles...This was perfect. I scaled down to 4 servings, seeing I am the only one in my house that will eat it, but it was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This tartar sauce is so easy to make. We don't eat fish very often, so I scaled the recipe down to 10 servings and we ate it all in one night. I made it just minutes before I served it-- it was tasty even without letting all the flavors blend. I love the kick the lemon adds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This Tartar Sauce was awesome! I will keep it for sure. You can 1/2 or 1/4 this recipe very easily. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I just add a few less onions, this is the best tartar sauce I have ever tried. My husband loves it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
SImple and PERFECT! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yummy!!!Scaled to 2.5, used sweet relish (my fav for everything) and oinion powder b/c I dont keep onions on hand. The oinion powder made it b/c I kept adding until I got the tartar sauce taste I was looking for (like LJS or Capt. D's). Delish!!! I will NEVER again buy tartar sauce. And, it doesn't have to sit, just eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States