Tartar Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Good, but it's important to drain the pickles, and the recipe doesn't mention that. Bf whipped this up tonight bc he wanted fish sticks and we don't have tartar sauce in the house. He used bread and butter pickles only bc that's what we have in the fridge--I much prefer dill pickles and think they'd be awesome. We used minced dried onion bc raw onion isn't our thing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
OMG!! I have finally found it. I love Captain D's tartar sauce. Now I can make my own!!. I made this recipe by dividing every ingredient in half! It is perfect! I also chopped the onion super fine. I can't even tell they are in there except that the flavor is PERFECT!! Try Schwan's batter crisp cod and you have a perfect meal. THANKS ALLRECIPES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made Tartar Sauce I the other day and gave it five stars even tho I made some changes. Now today looking at other recipes (because I'm going to make it again) I found that the changes I made match this recipe almost exactly. So anyway, this recipe is a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is very easy to scale down. I used tangy dill pickle relish so I didn't have to chop pickles. I left out the onion and added a couple of twists of freshly ground pepper. Easy to make and tastes better than anything I've ever bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I did not know this was easy to make. It was great. I will probably not buy tartar sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I personally don't eat Tartar Sauce, but my husband and daughter said that it was really good. So I will deffinately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you have the ingred. on hand much fresher and better then the jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I just served this with Crispy Fish Fillets (from this site. YUM! What a fantastic meal!!! I will NEVER purchase store-bought Tartar again! Since there are just two of us, I cut the recipe to 1 cup mayo, 1 ounce lemon juice, 1/4 cup chopped onion, and 1/4 cup sweet pickle. Also took the advice of another reviewer and added a splash of pickle juice. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Marlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is not good, my husband just ate 30 fish sticks because he loves this tartar sauce...it was a little gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I found out I had no tartar sauce for the kids fishsticks! But this recipe came to the rescue, it was DELICIOUS! I will NEVER buy tartar sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States