Tartar Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Quick and easy - just as the submitter states! It's also very good and a life saver when you realize you're out of tartar sauce! It's also much better so I don't think I'll be getting the store bought stuff anymore. I cut the recipe in half and used Hellman's light mayo combined with a bit of light sour cream to make it a little creamier along with some finely chopped green onion as it's very mild. All it needed was a bit of dill to punch it up. It was perfect over beer battered fish filet sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I loved this tartar sauce. I used sour cream instead of mayonnaise and added a little dill. I also used green onion instead of regular white onion. Yummy Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I am currently trying to change the way I eat for the better. I was having fish tonight and I just wanted a kick and I decided to make just a serving of this for my. I used 1 tbsp of low fat mayo, 1 tsp of relish, and 1 tsp of onion. I'm in love. Just what I needed. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Okay...I have to admit that I am one of those people who have to have tartar sauce on their fish to able to eat it. Well, my husband decides at the last minute he wants to cook fish and we are out of tartar sauce. So, for the sake of me not going hungry I make this homeade tartar sauce and it is so good. I will never buy store bought tartar sauce again!! I did add a hint of dill, lemon juice and old bay season........awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Stantonsburg, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
not bad, i would use a little less pickle relish though. added a bit of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I can not believe how simple yet undeniably delicious this tartar sauce is!! Easy to make! My family totally agreed! We will NEVER use store bought again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
This was very easy to make. We used it on crab cakes and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
easy to make and tastes very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made two versions, one with the sweet relish as listed, and one with dill relish. Both were wonderful. Add a touch of minced fresh cilantro leaves and either version are perfect on fish tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
GREAT base recipe. One of my FAV sauces for fish you can only get at (rhymes with) RACKER FARREL.....Can I say C.B.? Don't want any lawyers knockin' on my door. ;-) MINE turned out just like that. I added about 2? tsp. lemon juice and chopped up my own sweet pickles and used shallot's and a some dill and 2 pinches of salt and some fresh cracked pepper. I know, I know but all I needed was a good base recipe. SO...bottom line I will use this again and can't WAIT to cook my fish tonight. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States