Tartar Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
didnt change a thing. this is the simplest, quickest and best tartar sauce recipe ive ever made. i always keep a batch in my fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Thank you, thank you. This recipe is wonderful. As a person who likes to add a personal touch to most everything I cook, I wouldn't change a thing. This is a definite keeper. I wish I could give this six stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good and very easy. I mixed it together last night and we had it with fish for lunch today. Bf didn't notice the capers, or if he did, didn't complain. I like the combo of ingredients. I'm with other reviewers in that I have no idea what the egg contributes but it doesn't make it taste bad either. I served with Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia. This was more than enough for 3 pieces of the tilapia, so we have leftovers of this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
The perfect tartar sauce. Exactly what I was looking for, a traditional flavored sauce like you would find at a fish restaurant. I did not have the capers, but it didn't seem to be missing anything. LOVE IT. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I started to rate this the first time we had it; it was so good. But I wanted to play with it a bit. This is what I found out: 1) I can't improve it. 2) The capers are a nice touch. 3) I've tried it with and without the egg and cannot tell the difference. And since simpler is better in my kitchen, I usually leave it out. 4) I think salmon has an affinity for dill, so I sub dill relish for the sweet relish with salmon. Delicious that way, too. Many thanks, Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This is the best tarter sauce. I've made it several times. I use whatever pickles i have on hand, sweet and hot peppers, homemade bread and butter pickles. I think the egg and capers make the dish. Even my daughter who hates anything with mayo likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Delicious! Goes great with Vickie's Hush Puppies (also on Allrecipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Really tasty. Didn't have a hard boiled egg, but followed everything else to the t. Have to try again with the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Followed recipe to a "T". Surprised about the call for a hard boiled egg.. don't know what it did/or didn't do to the recipe; but I'll NEVER buy jarred tartar sauce again! Used with Hush Puppy recipe found on this site. OMG.. sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Very delish!!! I didn't use the egg. This was better then any store bought. I can make it when I need to without worrying about the experation date. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKITLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States