Tartar Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
didnt change a thing. this is the simplest, quickest and best tartar sauce recipe ive ever made. i always keep a batch in my fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Really tasty. Didn't have a hard boiled egg, but followed everything else to the t. Have to try again with the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good and very easy. I mixed it together last night and we had it with fish for lunch today. Bf didn't notice the capers, or if he did, didn't complain. I like the combo of ingredients. I'm with other reviewers in that I have no idea what the egg contributes but it doesn't make it taste bad either. I served with Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia. This was more than enough for 3 pieces of the tilapia, so we have leftovers of this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Followed recipe to a "T". Surprised about the call for a hard boiled egg.. don't know what it did/or didn't do to the recipe; but I'll NEVER buy jarred tartar sauce again! Used with Hush Puppy recipe found on this site. OMG.. sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Never made homemade tartar sauce before. It was very easy and tasted pretty good too. Now i wont have to let my store bought tartar sauce go to waste do to expiration. I reduced the serving size in half and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
awesome!!! Even my fussy husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good tartar sauce. I left out the egg, and added a couple more dashes of hot sauce. My friends thoroughly enjoyed it. One suggestion: make it the night before. the flavors meld much better than chilling for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Needs a little more bite, maybe adding some lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEY101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I was relieved to find this recipe, after reading all of the others on this recipe site. (I didn't think you could make tartar sauce without capers and hard boiled eggs). This recipe is similar to our family recipe, with only a few easy additions. We use only Helmanns Real Mayonaise, and add the following "spice it up" ingredients: a little creole or dijon mustard and "Old Bay" seasoning. I prefer to rinse the "sweet" flavor from the pickle relish/just run it under faucet in a tea strainer, but be sure to press the water out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a great tartar sauce recipe for any fish type meal. I love all of the ingredients. I also ended up splitting the sauce in half, added about 1 Tbsp of finely diced pickled jalapenos ... at a dinner table of 12, the spicy tartar was gone before it made it around the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreamSnatcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States