Tartar Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I started to rate this the first time we had it; it was so good. But I wanted to play with it a bit. This is what I found out: 1) I can't improve it. 2) The capers are a nice touch. 3) I've tried it with and without the egg and cannot tell the difference. And since simpler is better in my kitchen, I usually leave it out. 4) I think salmon has an affinity for dill, so I sub dill relish for the sweet relish with salmon. Delicious that way, too. Many thanks, Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
excellent recipe! I've tried nearly ALL tartar sauce recipes, this is the best by far. I've experimented and created my own recipe for tartar sauce, this beats that too. the egg is a great addition. Well done! that first review is shameful, what? too much flavor? sounds like one of those ketchup only on hot dog people to me. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This is absolutely the best tarter saucee I have ever had. The capers and the boiled egg does so much flavor, more than yuo would think. This is a keeper in my household. I've made home made tarter sauce for years, but nothing like this. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
One of the best tartar sauce's I've had. I didn't have any sweet relish, just dill, and I think the sweet would have made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
A very tasty tartar sauce. Try a healthy dash of a habanero sauce to give it a nice kick without being too hot. Capers can be salty so be sure to taste before adding any additional salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is a great accompaniment with fish - my husband loved it & he never eats tarter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONICAMR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a great tartar sauce recipe for any fish type meal. I love all of the ingredients. I also ended up splitting the sauce in half, added about 1 Tbsp of finely diced pickled jalapenos ... at a dinner table of 12, the spicy tartar was gone before it made it around the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreamSnatcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My family and i did this recipe the exact way it was supposed to be made and it came out great! my advice would be to make double because it will go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good tartar sauce. I left out the egg, and added a couple more dashes of hot sauce. My friends thoroughly enjoyed it. One suggestion: make it the night before. the flavors meld much better than chilling for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I love this tartar sauce. I didn't have time to boil an egg, so I left that out. I really loved the authentic flavor and I won't be buying jar sauce anymore. I'm really trying to eat as much homemade food as possible. I even used this with hand made mayo (ala Julia Childs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States