Tartar Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
A very tasty tartar sauce. Try a healthy dash of a habanero sauce to give it a nice kick without being too hot. Capers can be salty so be sure to taste before adding any additional salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This is absolutely the best tarter saucee I have ever had. The capers and the boiled egg does so much flavor, more than yuo would think. This is a keeper in my household. I've made home made tarter sauce for years, but nothing like this. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
excellent recipe! I've tried nearly ALL tartar sauce recipes, this is the best by far. I've experimented and created my own recipe for tartar sauce, this beats that too. the egg is a great addition. Well done! that first review is shameful, what? too much flavor? sounds like one of those ketchup only on hot dog people to me. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is a great accompaniment with fish - my husband loved it & he never eats tarter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONICAMR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
One of the best tartar sauce's I've had. I didn't have any sweet relish, just dill, and I think the sweet would have made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My family and i did this recipe the exact way it was supposed to be made and it came out great! my advice would be to make double because it will go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
It was great!! We doubled recipe but only used 1 egg and black pepper instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a great tartar sauce recipe for any fish type meal. I love all of the ingredients. I also ended up splitting the sauce in half, added about 1 Tbsp of finely diced pickled jalapenos ... at a dinner table of 12, the spicy tartar was gone before it made it around the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreamSnatcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I was relieved to find this recipe, after reading all of the others on this recipe site. (I didn't think you could make tartar sauce without capers and hard boiled eggs). This recipe is similar to our family recipe, with only a few easy additions. We use only Helmanns Real Mayonaise, and add the following "spice it up" ingredients: a little creole or dijon mustard and "Old Bay" seasoning. I prefer to rinse the "sweet" flavor from the pickle relish/just run it under faucet in a tea strainer, but be sure to press the water out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Needs a little more bite, maybe adding some lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEY101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States