Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I did not have any sweet relish on hand but I did have bread and butter pickles. So I minced a few slices and used them instead. This recipe was so light and fresh tasting. I will NEVER use store bought tartar sauce again. One other thing...you really do need to let it set for awhile. I had to use mine almost immediately and while it was still very good, it definately improved with some time. Try this recipe, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
818 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Yum-o...Great basic tartar sauce. I've made it per instructed and with modifications. I prefer to use dehydrated "Real-Lemon" powder instead of lemon juice (it makes it less runny) and I double pickles (at least) but drain them on paper towel first, again so that it is not runny. I have also used horseradish instead of onion which gives it a different, but not unpleasant, taste. Leaving it to marry in the fridge is advised as it really brings the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
619 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This is really the best tartar sauce....but I skip the optional lemon juice and we squeeze fresh lemon on our fish instead...not everyone likes the lemony taste in tartar sauce. I have enhanced this with a TBS. of ketchup or cocktail sauce and a tsp. of dried dill. This makes a yummy sauce for boiled shrimp or seared scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Saurer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
The best tartar ever. Wouldn't think of buying tartar sauce again. I used dill instead of sweet pickle. So good I been drinkin' it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is the BEST tartar sauce!! I omitted the onion and substituted onion powder to save time. I also took the tip of using dill pickle juice instead of lemon. We used fatfree mayo and it was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is very simple & tasty, which is my kind of recipe! I used light mayo & dill relish due to the simple fact of me not liking sweet relish. I will use this again & again, thanks Diane!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Excellent! I found this recipe a couple of weeks ago and have made it three times. We eat fish at least twice a week and I never realized that this sauce could be so easy to make. I rarely have sweet pickle relish, but another reviewer chopped up some sweet pickles and I did the same. The sauce is much more flavorful after a few hours in the fridge, overnight is best. This is a terrific, easy recipe and one for my files. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This did require another scoopful of pickle relish, but otherwise it was really good! Just like the tartar sauce they serve in the authentic fish and chips shop. I served it with fried shrimp, and there was none to put back in the fridge for leftovers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
this was so quick and simple.. i had never really thought about making my own tartar sauce... will not buy any again when i can make it.. i added some dill weed for pizzaz.. great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
good .. good .. good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States