Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Great basic recipe! I did include the optional lemon juice and doubled the called for relish. I used a liberal amount of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
ok, I didn't realize how easy tartar sauce is to make... the only change I made was, like a couple of reviewers, I put in a touch of onion powder instead of onions (because I was too lazy to chop). I just a couple of drops of lemon juice. Will make this again, the only thing different I think I will do next time is add a little bit more relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this recipe as directed with the exception of adding 1/2 TBSP more of sweet relish (just because we like relish). I made salmon patties and realized about 20 minutes before dinner that I forgot to buy tartar sauce and whipped this up. I was only able to let it sit in the fridge for about 15 minutes and it was still delicious. My husband took leftovers to work the next day and said the tartar sauce was even better after it sit in the fridge overnight. I will never buy tartar sauce from the store again-- so quick and easy! Thank you for posting this recipe! My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm not a big fan of mayo or sweet pickles, but I love dill pickles and onions. So, I used ½ cup mayo, 3 Tbsp dill pickle relish, 2 Tbsp finely minced onions and instead of lemon juice and pepper I just used a dash of lemon pepper. No salt as the dill pickle relish is salty. This of course, completely changed the recipe, but it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I tried another tartar sauce recipe today and Allrecipe's won, It's the easiest and the tastiest. The first recipe called for dill pickles which we didn't care for and the consistence was too loose. Allrecipe's calls for sweet pickle relish, which we prefer. I made it to serve with Pan Fried Oyster Spoons. A dollop of tartar sauce in the spoon topped with a warm oyster. I made the oysters yesterday and served in a spoon with homemade cocktail sauce and think this combination is the winner. The oysters heat up fine in the microwave so I know I can make them ahead, clean up the mess, and nuke them the next day. We like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Wowzers that's easy and yummy! I didn't have any pickles but did have some jalapeño sweet pickle relish. So good. I love spicy anyway so this worked out swimmingly. I will try it with dill pickles when I get another jar but for now, Wickles Relish is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Hayes Deel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious and perfect! I did add a little more relish, just because I love relish! I didn't use the lemon juice, since I had no lemon and I used chopped up green onion! Very delicious! There was none left by the end! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I prefer using that less dark less sweet (dill?) relish. Although this recipe shows the lemon as optional I think it's essential otherwise you don't get that acidic bite that tartar is known for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The only thing I changed was the relish instead of sweet dill relish I put dill relish! AMAZING!! Everytime I make it I get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States