Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Most store bought tartar sauces have that 'oily, cheap mayonese' base that really turns me off. I've always just mixed Miracle Whip and sweet pickle relish and there you have it. I do like to sqeeze a little lemon right on my fish for that little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was really good and easy to make.I will be making this again for my family. J.Bennett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Same recipe I've been using for about 30 years. I don't use the lemon juice as it makes it too runny. I usually use dried onion flakes and they "reconstitute" in the sauce while the other flavors are "marrying". It keeps for a long time in fridge if you don't use it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The recipe was OK, but I made it a little healthier by cutting the mayo amount in half and substituting greek yogurt. Also, because I prefer a tarter tartar (ha ha) sauce, I use half sweet, half dill pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Guilford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I have used this basic recipe for years, but I like to add a little garlic powder. Also, I use lime juice instead of lemon. This beats anything you can get ready-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I have used a similar recipe for many years but prefer dill relish and use fresh lime juice rather than the lemon. It's a staple at our house when fish is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Great for in a pinch and cheaper than store bought! I did add a little dill pickle relish in too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written with 1 TBSP of lemon jucie. I found it to be way too bland - added another 2+ TBSP of relish for it to have any kind of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Pro tartar sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made fish and had run out of tartar sauce so I found this recipe and tried it. I will no longer be buying tartar sauce. This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States