Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I've been making this exact recipe for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is very good and similiar to the one I make. I add 1/2 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce and use chopped dill pickles rather than sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Like Dave B. I always use dill relish too but I also add dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I love this recipe but added a kick by adding a few tbls of chopped fresh jalapenos and a dab of sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Very good basic recipe. My hubby LOVES tartar sauce and uses plenty so I have been making it for him for years in an effort to have a healthier option than store-bought. Over time we have tweaked the recipe to suit his preferences. We use light Miracle Whip rather than mayo, add more sweet relish, some garlic, less lemon juice, onion powder, and either paprika or Old Bay seasoning and a light touch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I haven't used tarter sauce in years, I have used this recipe with just a slight change, no lemon juice and seasoned salt instead of salt and pepper. So much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Most store bought tartar sauces have that 'oily, cheap mayonese' base that really turns me off. I've always just mixed Miracle Whip and sweet pickle relish and there you have it. I do like to sqeeze a little lemon right on my fish for that little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was really good and easy to make.I will be making this again for my family. J.Bennett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Same recipe I've been using for about 30 years. I don't use the lemon juice as it makes it too runny. I usually use dried onion flakes and they "reconstitute" in the sauce while the other flavors are "marrying". It keeps for a long time in fridge if you don't use it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The recipe was OK, but I made it a little healthier by cutting the mayo amount in half and substituting greek yogurt. Also, because I prefer a tarter tartar (ha ha) sauce, I use half sweet, half dill pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Guilford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States