Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Going to a catfish fry on Sat. and I was asked to bring the tarter sauce. This turned out very good as I just tasted after being chilled 24 hrs. Only change I made was adding about 7-8 mashed capers instead of salt and I doubled the pepper to 1 1/2 tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I like this recipe I have used it multiple times for a really good fried fish recipe I have. I normally dont eat tartar sauce cause I dont like mayonnaise, but this was very good. I love the onion in it, and I put a little extra lemon juice and pickles in it for my own personal time. This tartar sauce has gone in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farahkm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
this recipe is good.but for me I like not to thick tar" sauce so I use a little bit water from pickled gherkins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neverbeensoberCHEF

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Good base recipe. A little bland for our taste so I did have to add some things to it. But a good base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
even after sitting for hours it was too mayo-y. remade with onion powder, garlic powder, three times relish (DILL) and half the lemon juice. much better than store bought, but still needs tweaking. great base to work from, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Not What I Was Exceping, To Mayo Tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Veal Davlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Guess I'm in the minority here, but we didn't find anything special about this. Its not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
EXCELLENT! Of course you can change it up to suit your tastes, but this is a thousand times better than anything bottled; as far as a basic tartar sauce goes. I've made this numerous times; by adding fresh parsley from my garden, outstanding! Any fresh herb goes very well to change up the flavor since we eat fish a lot. Surprise your tastebuds. Even great with curry powder; go on experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I give this recipe two stars it was weird tasting, and I had to change the recipe to get it to taste good. Would be better with less lemon juice one tbs. instead of two. I also added pepper, cayenne, and capers! This way it was a lot better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is a great and easy tartar sauce recipe. I followed the recipe (including the lemon) but wanted a little more bite to it so I added about a tablespoon of minced capers and let it sit for a couple of hours. So yummy! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States