Tart Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was very good. I could've drained off a little juice as it was very juicy but the flavor was great! I had 3 29 oz. cans of tart cherries so I added a little bit more sugar and a tablespoon more tapioca. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. The almond flavoring I almost left out but I was glad I didn't because it is a subtle but very nice flavor with the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skuba
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I had a pound of fresh sour cherries so I decided to use thoes. Because I only had a pound I halved the rest of the recipe. I thought it was really good but the tapioca was soft but it did leave a texture that I didn't particularly care for. My favorite is to use about a tablespoon of liquid pectin for a thickener. I also used one crust and made cut outs so you could see the berries. The brown sugar really gave it a subtle richness. I'll be making again with frozen cherries most likely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skuba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Very good. I could only find one brand of cherries in water and it was 2.60 a can so using 5 cans, this recipe can get pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a good cobbler and not too sweet. I added a little less than 1 TBSP cornstarch because one reviewer commented how juicy it was and I didn't want it too come out too soupy. For us it was perfect. I also rolled out the 2 pie crusts separately and sprinkled a little cinnamon-sugar in between. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was delicious! i used 1/2 can cherries and 1/2 fresh cherries, and the results were amazing! I can not keep my husband away from it! LOL i do prefer the traditional style cobbler topping, but this i will make again. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I thought my Mom was the only one who made them this way..just as good as Mom made. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Sooo delicious and very easy to make! I cut the pie crust into strips/lattice and used a cookie cutter to decorate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This cobbler is currently baking, so I can't speak to the taste; however, I wanted to mention that I couldn't find cherries in water or cans of the right ounces. Instead, I bought the "More Fruit" brand and rinsed them in a strainer. Afterwards, I only added one of the sugars. The consistency and flavor seemed accurate upon a pre-baked taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this tonight and it was great. I usually follow the recipes exactly but in this case I couldn't find the cherries in water so I opted for the canned cherries for pies. 3 cans was plenty. I only added the brown sugar and omitted the white since I didn't think it needed all that sugar along with the sugary cherries. It was perfect! Made a 9 in pie with plenty of pie crust left over for Turkey cookie cutter crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States