Tarragon-Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
added a clove of garlic. very good. can use rice instead of barley if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I followed the directions and froze the leftovers. Great the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
SOOOO good! My 1 yr old, 5 yr old, and husband loved it. I used leftover turkey meat from thanksgiving meal and turkey broth I'd made from the turkey carcass. Also I used cooked brown rice instead of barley. It tasted a little off in the end and it took a while to figure out what was missing... garlic powder made it PERFECT so next time I'll do crushed garlic with the onions and green peppers. Amazing! So good and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was great! I halved the recipe but used the full pound of meat to please my other half. I only had regular barley, so I precooked it and added it at the end. I did let it simmer a bit longer than the recipe states, to give my bread time to finish baking. Thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: I did freeze a serving of this, and once thawed it tasted great! Almost better than the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Fantastic! I worried that the tarragon (which is really pungent in its dried form) would be overpowering, but oh my, it provided a very delicate flavor that paired perfectly with the other flavors of this soup. It's even better the next day too! Even my husband enjoyed this hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Most recipes I find on this site need modified slightly. Not this one. It is perfect as is. Kids loved it. Husband loved it. In our family, that is a true Christmas miracle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was okay, but we thought it needed a lot more flavor. I had to add another 4 cups of broth as it was cooking especially after I added the barley, it just absorbed all the liquid. I didn't have quick cooking barley, so it actually had to simmer about 45 minutes before it was done. My family thought it was okay but not great and they both gave this 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just so-so. I love tarragon so I thought it would be really tasty. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was really good, and I have been hoping to find a unique recipe for ground turkey. We really enjoyed this soup. We didn't modify it much, we used 1/4c regular barley and 1/2c orzo (my husband loves orzo in soup). Oh ya I also added garlic. The flavor was great and it was warm & satisfying for a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I always like more spices... so I added white pepper, marjoram, garlic salt, 2 cloves of garlic, and sage. very tasty. I also added more potatoes, bell peppers, and water. I will definitely make it again! THX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States