Tarragon-Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I was looking for a quick, easy and yummy soup recipe for the end of a busy day, this soup was fantastic!! I did make a few changes such as, I made it with 2 pounds of ground turkey, I also added kidney beans, white beans, corn, green beans and omitted the barley. I also added 2 cloves of garlic, 2 teaspoon of savory seasoning, an extra 2 teaspoons of tarragon. 1 teaspoon garlic salt, 1 teaspoon crushed dried bay leaf, 1 more 8pz can of broth and 2 Chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bryandevans1979
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Yummy!! Delicious recipe especially on one of the few rainy days we get in Las Vegas. I used whole wheat rotini instead of barley and added two garlic cloves and celery. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great rainy day springtime soup!! Thank you! Added a can of northern beans, brown rice, two cloves of garlic, and 32 more fl oz of broth. It made a lot for just me and my wife. I thought i would have some to freeze but it's almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We all really enjoyed this recipe. I had lots of leftover turkey from Christmas, so I cut that up and used it in place of the ground turkey. I didn't have barley, so I used regular white rice and it was quite yummy. I also added a couple of sweet potatoes, cubed. Made the soup very colorful and tasty. Easy and delicious. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe was delicious and easy. I did substitute the barley with rice, and the whole family really liked it (and for once the leftovers didn't go in the trash!) I did use a full pound of turkey, but think that the next time I make it, it will be with country style ground pork instead (less healthy, more tasty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
this is one of the most flavorful soups I have ever made! I've used this recipe for a while now and still love it! The tarragon is a perfect compliment to the turkey and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it on a cold winter's night after Christmas. I used leftover turkey breast instead of ground turkey, brown rice instead of barley and a half bag of frozen (microwaved first) mixed veggies. Was yummy with my grandma's recipe for (no sugar added) white corn meal cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by small

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My husband and I love this soup recipe. So much that today I decided to join AllRecipes ! This is the third time I made this soup. Like most others, I added a few more ingredients/spices. I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic to the turkey mixture. I also added about a pinch poultry seasoning, ground blk pepper & Herbs De Provence & sea salt. After adding the chicken broth I also added in about 1 stalk of chopped celery. I used small russet potatos which I peeled and diced. And finally I used 1 bag of brown Success rice, which I added once the soup had started to boil. Seasoned w/ small amount of sea salt & pepper if needed and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This came out pretty good, but I think it would be even better with leftover turkey instead of ground turkey (but then again, I'm just not a fan of ground meats in soups). I probably doubled the onion, added two cloves of garlic and used my homemade vegetable stock. I hate when I'm rolling through a recipe only to find I'm missing key ingredients, but subbing sweet potato for red potato worked beautifully, and instead of barley I had about 1/2 cup of red lentils to use up. Love the tarragon aroma and flavor - used the full 2 tbsp and it was perfect. Can't wait for the next turkey dinner so I can try this with chopped cooked turkey instead of ground!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Just so-so. I love tarragon so I thought it would be really tasty. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States