Tarragon Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I really don't know how I feel about this salad. I'm new to fresh tarragon after enjoying it in chicken salad. I had some leftover from Christmas and looked for recipes to use it up. I do enjoy rice salad and even though this sounded like a weird combination I thought I'd try it. I used short grain brown rice and cooked it in broth. I had to used dry chives. I did not mix in the chopped egg but rather kept them separate to sprinkle on top. I may try this again when I have fresh chives and perhaps use plain rice (not cooked in broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This salad was definitely different - I'll give it that. Neither my husband nor I cared for it. Fortunately, it doesn't make much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made the following changes, firstly I don't like or have instant rice. I made regular long grain white Jasmine rice . I cooked it with chicken broth instead of water. I think this adds nice depth of flavor. Otherwise I left other ingredients as listed. Very nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmpower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was fairly good except I didn’t cook the rice long enough…opps. Felt it might be a little better warmed up a tad. I served this with Sesame Sirloin Steak from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Sorry, but I thought this was completely boring and tasteless. There's really nothing to give this much flavor. I started adding more salt & pepper, and some cayenne and some garlic powder, just to add *something* to it so I wouldn't have to waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I really liked it, but the rest of my family didn't care for it as much. Their definitely not picky eaters by any means, but I think I might use a little less of the oil and vinegar mixture next time. After eating it, I'm thinking rosemary might be another good herb to try with it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is the most unusual salad I have ever had. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States