Tarragon Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I really don't know how I feel about this salad. I'm new to fresh tarragon after enjoying it in chicken salad. I had some leftover from Christmas and looked for recipes to use it up. I do enjoy rice salad and even though this sounded like a weird combination I thought I'd try it. I used short grain brown rice and cooked it in broth. I had to used dry chives. I did not mix in the chopped egg but rather kept them separate to sprinkle on top. I may try this again when I have fresh chives and perhaps use plain rice (not cooked in broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This salad was definitely different - I'll give it that. Neither my husband nor I cared for it. Fortunately, it doesn't make much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made the following changes, firstly I don't like or have instant rice. I made regular long grain white Jasmine rice . I cooked it with chicken broth instead of water. I think this adds nice depth of flavor. Otherwise I left other ingredients as listed. Very nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmpower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was fairly good except I didn’t cook the rice long enough…opps. Felt it might be a little better warmed up a tad. I served this with Sesame Sirloin Steak from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Sorry, but I thought this was completely boring and tasteless. There's really nothing to give this much flavor. I started adding more salt & pepper, and some cayenne and some garlic powder, just to add *something* to it so I wouldn't have to waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I really liked it, but the rest of my family didn't care for it as much. Their definitely not picky eaters by any means, but I think I might use a little less of the oil and vinegar mixture next time. After eating it, I'm thinking rosemary might be another good herb to try with it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is the most unusual salad I have ever had. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States