Tarragon Lover's Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Two words: absolutely fabulous! I forgot to buy fresh tarragon so I used 1 tbs. of dried (I know - shame on me!) but it was STILL yummy. Can't wait to make it again with fresh tarragon. I also seared the scallops over medium HIGH heat so they'd brown slightly in the oil and butter. Heated the oil/butter 'til it started to brown and what a fabulous flavor. Managed to cook the scallops to perfection which took about 4 minutes/side for medium-lg. sea scallops (not overcooked). Scallops are a favorite of hubby, as well as tarragon, so I knew he'd love this and sure enough he did! Thanks so much for the recipe which I am going to file in my "favorites" right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YELLEPHANT
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This dish was amazing! I didn't wipe the pan out after searing the scallops, so I had yummy browned bits in the sauce. Served with a wild rice pilaf and fresh greens. I was so proud of this dish, I took pictures and showed all my friends. They made me promise I would make it for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
this was lovely.... served it with orzo to soak up the sauce. next time, i would use little to no olive oil in the pan so it would not be so oily. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I made this dish for my first! ever! dinner party, and it was wonderful. Super simple, but delicious and worthy of company. I was very nervous about the evening but this recipe gave me no reason to be ashamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
3 letters. OMG! What an amazing mix of flavors. With both tarragon and lemon zest, (2 of my fav flavors, but never combined) its like a party on your taste buds! I used 'I cant blve its not butter light' and was still...OMG! I didnt whipe out the pan eiter. Thank you for such an alive recipe. This is at the top of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! So simple, quick to prepare, and incredibly delicious!!! I took a hint from another and instead of wiping out the pan after cooking the scallops, I merely loosened the browned bits in the pan and incorporated it into the sauce...to a spectacular result. Goes wonderfully served on top of a bed of baby arugula with a bit of long grain & wild rice on the side. This one's staying in the recipe box for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbhaywards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Great Recipe. Easy and very quick to make! I added some garlic to the sauce. Grab some fresh bread to soak up some of the sauce... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very high rating from my dinner party guests. I've prepared this as an appetizer, two sea scallops per person. The difference I made was I served them on a bed of creamed spinach. My creamed spinach is simply Stouffers Spinach Souffle with a bit of cream cheese and cream. Luscious! Before I added the scallops to the pan I sauteed a few scallions first in the pan, then added the scallops. I did not wipe out the pan either when the scallops were removed, that's where all the flavor is. Word of Caution: Scallops cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
What an easy recipe!!!! I served the scallops with King Crab Legs and rice. Thank you for a great treat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This dish was scrumptious. At the end I added some bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese and placed it under the broiler for 1 minute. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States