Tarragon Lover's Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Two words: absolutely fabulous! I forgot to buy fresh tarragon so I used 1 tbs. of dried (I know - shame on me!) but it was STILL yummy. Can't wait to make it again with fresh tarragon. I also seared the scallops over medium HIGH heat so they'd brown slightly in the oil and butter. Heated the oil/butter 'til it started to brown and what a fabulous flavor. Managed to cook the scallops to perfection which took about 4 minutes/side for medium-lg. sea scallops (not overcooked). Scallops are a favorite of hubby, as well as tarragon, so I knew he'd love this and sure enough he did! Thanks so much for the recipe which I am going to file in my "favorites" right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YELLEPHANT
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This dish was amazing! I didn't wipe the pan out after searing the scallops, so I had yummy browned bits in the sauce. Served with a wild rice pilaf and fresh greens. I was so proud of this dish, I took pictures and showed all my friends. They made me promise I would make it for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
this was lovely.... served it with orzo to soak up the sauce. next time, i would use little to no olive oil in the pan so it would not be so oily. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I made this dish for my first! ever! dinner party, and it was wonderful. Super simple, but delicious and worthy of company. I was very nervous about the evening but this recipe gave me no reason to be ashamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
3 letters. OMG! What an amazing mix of flavors. With both tarragon and lemon zest, (2 of my fav flavors, but never combined) its like a party on your taste buds! I used 'I cant blve its not butter light' and was still...OMG! I didnt whipe out the pan eiter. Thank you for such an alive recipe. This is at the top of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! So simple, quick to prepare, and incredibly delicious!!! I took a hint from another and instead of wiping out the pan after cooking the scallops, I merely loosened the browned bits in the pan and incorporated it into the sauce...to a spectacular result. Goes wonderfully served on top of a bed of baby arugula with a bit of long grain & wild rice on the side. This one's staying in the recipe box for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbhaywards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Great Recipe. Easy and very quick to make! I added some garlic to the sauce. Grab some fresh bread to soak up some of the sauce... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very high rating from my dinner party guests. I've prepared this as an appetizer, two sea scallops per person. The difference I made was I served them on a bed of creamed spinach. My creamed spinach is simply Stouffers Spinach Souffle with a bit of cream cheese and cream. Luscious! Before I added the scallops to the pan I sauteed a few scallions first in the pan, then added the scallops. I did not wipe out the pan either when the scallops were removed, that's where all the flavor is. Word of Caution: Scallops cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
What an easy recipe!!!! I served the scallops with King Crab Legs and rice. Thank you for a great treat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This dish was scrumptious. At the end I added some bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese and placed it under the broiler for 1 minute. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States