Tarragon Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We are a mayo-free household, so this recipe was perfect. Since my husband detests celery, I substituted green bell pepper for the celery. I also used garlic salt and Greek yogurt. I served it on buttered, toasted sourdough and it was the tastiest dinner we've had in while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great recipe. No heaviness of mayo and great blend of flavors. It's become my favorite thing to bring to picnics and parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was excellent. I did a couple things different to this recipe. I added a diced plum tomato and fresh tarragon and omitted the nuts. I used Greek yogurt and a little mayo for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have to admit, I did not use the yogurt, or sour cream I did Mayo it needed something I added celery seed and some stone ground mustard and felt it took it up a notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
YUM! I made this recipe orginally to add to green salads for the guys in my house. I wanted them to get some good protein and since they are all trying to diet, I figured this one would fit the bill. I'm happy to say it did beautifully. While they all liked it in the salad, they also said they would prefer it on a sandwhich. Since I doubled the recipe, I tried that the next day, and 2 of my sons really, REALLY liked it this way too. Winner all around, and I will make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: My sons are still asking for this, so I know it's a winner. I kick up the tarragon just a bit just because I love tarragon. Again, thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delicious! This was a great way to use up some left over chicken I had. I cut the celery back to one cup and since I didn't have low-fat plain yogurt on hand I subbed low fat mayo. I added some fresh lemon juice and a bit of dijon mustard along with some parsley. (similar to Tarragon Tuna Salad from this site). I left out the almonds and let this set in the fridge for a couple hours to let the flavors blend. Great on toasted whole grain bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great salad. I tried it with fresh tarragon and used the juice of half a lemon to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This chicken salad is a great base for someone who has an afliction to mayo. I added everything in this recipe, but instead of almonds, i added pecans cuz thats what i had. I also added a tspn of mayo to my yogurt and sour creAM for a light tangy flavor w/o actually overpowering it with mayo. I also added freshly ground black pepper and dash or two of onion powder, and i used fresh tarragon and dried chives cuz thats all i had onhand. As a person who loves chicken salad but alot of times it either tastes too chickeny or too mayoey, this one is perfect and delicious! Screw the deli, i will make this from now on! I also didnt measure any of my ingredianets except for the yogurt/mayo/sourcream mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
ANOTHER GREAT RECIPE!!! Staff members loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was really very good. I enjoyed the tarragon and chives a lot - nice spin to an old classic. I also sometimes finely chop a red pepper and throw that in, too. Delicious. I've tried it with tuna as well, and while it works, it's definitely better with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States