Tarragon Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This is a very good chicken salad recipe. Don't hesitate to use it. Next time I will only put 1 cup of Mayonnaise. I mixed in about 3/4 cup of the red onion because my children don't like onions and I added a handful (approximately 1/2 cup) of Dry Roasted Pine Nuts. I'll bet cashews would be good in it if you don't have the pine nuts. My kids loved it and didn't say anything about the onions. Wow...what an accomplishment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I really enjoyed this one. Very subtle flavor that would be liked by most. Used canned chicken from Sam's Club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I rate recipes based on how they work when done by the book. This one needed substantial tweaking. Halve the mayo and mix. Add more mayo as needed. Hint: More finely-chopped chicken needs more mayo. Reduce the chopped parsley to 1/2 cup. I had to use dried tarragon which I increased to 1 tbsp. Dice the celery so it's less distracting. Consider swapping halved red grapes for the raisins. Not including salt and pepper is a big oversight. Use a pinch of each. Mix well and refrigerate at least several hours or overnight for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is a really great recipe! I used a rotisserie chicken instead per a friend's suggestion. Very GOOD. I did not use the raisens, and I used maybe 3/4 cup mayo- maybe even less. I would start with less and add in to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this for a party and got rave reviews. I added dried cranberries and chopped toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I like to rate recipes as published. Otherwise to me it's not really rating the recipe submitted. That being said I found this recipe to be very good as published. The tarragon really makes it. Such a nice favor yet not overbearing. The celery gives it a nice crunch and everything combined makes for a wonderful salad. I have served it many ways but my family likes it best served in a pita bread pocket. Add a nice homemade sangria wine and you have a wonderful light summer day lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT chicken salad. The tarragon gives it a sophisticated but subtle "something" that everyone seems to love. I made this for my daughter's baby shower, served on croissants. Everyone LOVED it! I'm thinking about growing tarragon in my garden just so I always have it on hand to make this. Thanks for the great recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Pretty good chicken salad. I tried it again and reduced the mayo to 1 cup, added 1 tsp sugar, added a dash of white pepper and salt, reduced onion to 1/3 cup finely minced, and reduce parsley to 1/4 cup chopped. I also added halved red grapes and dried cranberries and dropped the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
It was very good, but I would maybe use less mayo next time or not use the cusinart to chop the chicken so finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Very good flavor but way too much mayo. Next time, use half what it calls for. If you dont have all that parsley on hand, not crucial to taste. Only used about half cup and still had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States