Taro Coconut Tapioca Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is one of my favorite desserts and it came out wonderful! I added more sugar than was on the receipe but other than that, it came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is so good. I used a little less sugar, and it tastes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I like this easy and tasty recipe. The first time I made it, we didn't eat it until 3 hours later, the tapioca soaked up the liquid, the dessert became very thick mixture. I adjust the procedure the second time I made it: I boiled the taro for 15 mins, then added uncook tapioca in the same pot to cook for another 7 mins, then added coconut milk cook until boil, last step I added brown raw sugar for another 2 mins or so until sugar dissolve. I serve it 1 hour later, this time tapiocas didn't have that much time to soak up all the liquid and the flavor is still there without all that simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a very popular recipe in southeast asia. You can also use sweet rice in place of the tapioca pearls. I serve this to my six month old baby and she loveees it so much. Coconut milk is high in saturated fat which is very good for you as oppose to the poly saturated fat. So don't be afraid of this recipe because of the coco milk. I also sub. rock sugar for palm sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I'm from Hong Kong, this is what we call tong shui(sweet water). This is a good recipe to follow. I used to do it all by taste, a lot more work. I used sweet potato instead of taro(it's interchangeable, but sweet potato has some natural sweetness). My advice is cook the tapioca by itself as the recipe says, you don't want the starchy water. In a different pot cook the taro and sugar. Add sugar till it suits your taste(it's not suppose to be too sweet) then add the tapioca and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
It was average tasting. It wasn't what I was looking for. I had to strain the tapioca with running warm water to get rid of the starchy sticky gel. Then I added the milk/sugar mixture. Also, I boiled the taro seperately and added that at the end. My daughter liked it with whipped cream stirred in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It wasn't sweet enough for me and too much liquid. It's not that I don't like Asian desserts, because I LOVE red beans, mung beans, etc. in coconut milk for desert. I'm guessing it's the taro that doesn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Wow, did not care for this! It's too liquidy and the potato didn't work well with the other textures. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Not good at all! just ruined my root and waisted my time. Lacking flavor and too thin. This has too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States