Tara's Sweet and Chunky Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My mouth watered when I read the recipe but I didn't quite have the right ingredients on hand. So, I used a fresh cooked chicken breast [I buy bone-in breasts on sale; cook them up; remove the skin and debone them; freeze them in separate sandwich bags and put into one big freezer bag]; Miracle Whip Light, dill pickle relish [easier than cutting up pickles anyway!]and the onion. I didn't have sunflower seeds, but did have a trail mix called "Cranberries and More" that I use for a salad topping. I just chopped it up a little finer. It was WONDERFUL! The second time I added celery and a hard boiled egg and red seedless grapes cut in half. The third time I added chopped red onion too. I CRAVE this salad! It is truly the best chicken salad I've ever eaten! Thanks TARA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I use chicken left overs for this and it is really the nicest cold chicken recipe I have found made it as a lunch with salad for friend and all love it.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was so good. i will be making this one again and again. i wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I was looking for a good chicken salad recipe with only a few ingredients that I could make quickly and this hit the spot. I made a few minor changes. I used green onion and cherry flavored cranberries because that's what I had and I used dill relish so the only thing I had to chop was the green onion. Quick, easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Holy moly, this was great! I didn't have sunflower seeds so used slivered almonds, and I was out of onion. The dried cranberries ARE the secret ingredient...and this is absolutely heavenly on oatnut bread with a couple slices of Swiss cheese. I'm glad I have some more...it's tomorrow's lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Hubby doesn't usually like fruit in his mayo-based salads, but he ate this up! Thanks - I didn't have to make ANY tweaks or changes to the recipe, other than using boiled & shredded chicken breast meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Flores

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Excellent 'starter' recipe - I have turned it into "kitchen sink chicken salad" adding chopped grapes & celery, topping with sliced boiled eggs. I made it for company, served with fresh garlicy bread, and no one had fewer than 2 sandwiches! I always double it because it does keep pretty well for about 48 hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIEK2
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was reluctant to combine cranberries with dill pickles... seemed odd. But this is a GREAT variation on chicken salad. And the first All Recipes recipe that I will submit a photo for! Thanks Tara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
yummy yummy left out the seeds added more cranberries and pickle relish delightful sandwich for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I made this for a spur of the moment luncheon and not only was it so easy but it was mouth watering. I only had green onions but it didn't detract from the flavor, it only enhanced it. i used the garlic dill pickles and still only added to the already tantalizing flavors. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States