Tara's Sweet and Chunky Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My mouth watered when I read the recipe but I didn't quite have the right ingredients on hand. So, I used a fresh cooked chicken breast [I buy bone-in breasts on sale; cook them up; remove the skin and debone them; freeze them in separate sandwich bags and put into one big freezer bag]; Miracle Whip Light, dill pickle relish [easier than cutting up pickles anyway!]and the onion. I didn't have sunflower seeds, but did have a trail mix called "Cranberries and More" that I use for a salad topping. I just chopped it up a little finer. It was WONDERFUL! The second time I added celery and a hard boiled egg and red seedless grapes cut in half. The third time I added chopped red onion too. I CRAVE this salad! It is truly the best chicken salad I've ever eaten! Thanks TARA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is very yummy, though I used halved red grapes instead of the cranberries as it was what I had on hand & diced chicken pieces in place of the canned because I don't like canned meat. I also added chopped celery for extra crunch and a light sprinkle of garlic powder. The filling was delicious stuffed in a pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Holy moly, this was great! I didn't have sunflower seeds so used slivered almonds, and I was out of onion. The dried cranberries ARE the secret ingredient...and this is absolutely heavenly on oatnut bread with a couple slices of Swiss cheese. I'm glad I have some more...it's tomorrow's lunch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Thanks, Tara! This is a clean, refreshing chicken salad. I used left over chicken thighs (chopped bite size), a little more mayo (eyeball it to your liking), 1/2 t. dried dill weed, 1/3 c. chopped vidalia onion, 1/3 c. chopped pecans, 1/4 c. chopped celery, and 1/3 c. craisins. I agree this could be the "kitchen sink" or "garbage" chicken salad, but Tara's basics make it incredible! This would go over well at BBQ's and gal pal luncheons! Next time I will try canned chicken (Buy one, get one free) and dill relish. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
yummy yummy left out the seeds added more cranberries and pickle relish delightful sandwich for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This was very good but it definately needs more mayo. I doubled the amount of mayo. I also used sweet pickles instead of dill and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was so good. i will be making this one again and again. i wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It's a great way to use leftover chicken. I served it over a bed of spinach and sprinkled a crunchy almond salad topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I nabbed this recipe over 2 years ago and i thought I'd say it has officially been added to our rotation. We like to eat it on a bun with lettuce, or wrapped in a lettuce leaf is pretty delicious, too. I always make it as is unless I am out of something, then I substitute. It's delectable either way. I like it served with cabbage and Jimmy's pineapple cole slaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I just love this chicken salad!! It is great on croissants or eaten in a bowl like a salad. A few things I changed because of what I had on hand. Instead of the canned chunk chicken, I just use regular boiled chicken that I chop into pieces. Also, instead of sunflower seeds, I have used browned almond slivers. Don't forget to add some salt and pepper (to taste) since the chicken won't have any seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States