Tara's Sweet and Chunky Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I did not have sunflower seeds, and used chicken I cooked at home, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was great tasting, but I will add more mayo and the seeds next time. Also thought that canned chicken may make it too salty, so will stick to home cooked. Great recipe that was a little diffrent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I made this for a spur of the moment luncheon and not only was it so easy but it was mouth watering. I only had green onions but it didn't detract from the flavor, it only enhanced it. i used the garlic dill pickles and still only added to the already tantalizing flavors. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
yummy yummy left out the seeds added more cranberries and pickle relish delightful sandwich for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I think this would be a four star recipe if didn't call for canned chicken. I was going to cook a chicken breast to use, but decided to follow the recipe because it was much quicker using the canned stuff. Maybe it's just me, but I think canned chicken tastes SO much different from freshly cooked. I did use dill relish instead just to save a step. I found myself looking forward to biting into a cranberry when I was eating! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is very yummy, though I used halved red grapes instead of the cranberries as it was what I had on hand & diced chicken pieces in place of the canned because I don't like canned meat. I also added chopped celery for extra crunch and a light sprinkle of garlic powder. The filling was delicious stuffed in a pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I was looking for a healthier version of a chicken salad and thought this would be perfect. I made exactly as the recipe stated and although it wasn't terrible...it wasn't incredible either. It was defintely missing something, which I think was salt and pepper and maybe a more mayo to help hold it together a little better. I will try this again but will try a variation to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIEK2
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was reluctant to combine cranberries with dill pickles... seemed odd. But this is a GREAT variation on chicken salad. And the first All Recipes recipe that I will submit a photo for! Thanks Tara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Excellent 'starter' recipe - I have turned it into "kitchen sink chicken salad" adding chopped grapes & celery, topping with sliced boiled eggs. I made it for company, served with fresh garlicy bread, and no one had fewer than 2 sandwiches! I always double it because it does keep pretty well for about 48 hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I loved it. I used the canned chicken and thought there was plenty of mayo. I didn't have pickles, so I used 1 tsp fresh basil and 1 tsp fresh dill, it gave it a great flavor. The cranberries are a wondrful sweet touch, (I used Craisins). I will definitely use this recipe again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Hubby doesn't usually like fruit in his mayo-based salads, but he ate this up! Thanks - I didn't have to make ANY tweaks or changes to the recipe, other than using boiled & shredded chicken breast meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Flores

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States