Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed this pie. I did use margarine instead of butter--it was all I had and I just didn't want to wait! I used a combination of milk and semisweet chocolate chips in the filling. At 40 minutes I thought it was way too gooey, but I didn't want to bake over the suggested time so I took it out against my better judgment. I didn't enjoy it at first, but by the next morning it had firmed up while still maintaining just the right amount of gooeyness. I microwave a sliver for 15 seconds and serve it with a scoop of ice cream--it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
as a native North Carolinian, I'm making this my signature pie. It was wonderful! I was really proud to serve this at a dinner party. Everyone loved it. I started out with small slices, but nearly everyone wanted a second piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This recipe is amazing! Only major change I made was using sliced Almonds instead of Pecans... made it more like an Almond Joy too (i dont care for Pecans). I got rave reviews on it and served with good Vanilla Ice Cream is just a perfect combination. Next day I nuked the slice for a few seconds to heat it up and had with more ice cream and it was just as good! I am DEFINITELY making this again when I have choc-a-holics coming over. Its easy, looks nice, and tastes heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISKAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
It's pretty bad looking but tastes great, but not a fancy dessert. I would do it again but add whipped cream on top and a graham or animal cracker crust to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
sooooo yummy! I made this for Christmas. I nearly ate the whole thing myself. A little rich but sinfully good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skipwith, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Like eating fudge in a crust!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Fantastic. Wonderfully rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Wow is this awesome. So sinfully rich and gooey. If you're a brownie lover this is definitely for you. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I only added 1/2 cup of nuts because I'm not a huge nut fan. This is great with cool whip or vanilla ice cream. I bet this is good even without the crust. I will be making this again very, very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Wow, I was a little skeptical at first, thinking that this would be way to rich, but it is perfect. Served warm, topped with vanilla ice cream, it is just heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is a chocolate lovers dream. Very easy to make and great results. I served it with a side of vanilla ice cream. YUM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States