Tar Heel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I brought this cake in to share at a party, and everyone loved it! It turned out more like a brownie than a pie, but I am okay with that! I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Oh my gosh............do you like chocolate? Do you like German Chocolate Cake? If you answered yes to either of these questions, this is the pie for you. Made it for a friends birthday and we ate it while the center was still warm and gooey. It was oh so good. Even my husband who doesn't care for coconut liked this pie. It is very rich and a thin slice will go far. We thought it goes best with a cold, tall glass of milk. Definitely will make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy! It is VERY rich so I agree with the person who submitted this recipe--small slices are advised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent, I made this pie yesterday for Thanksgiving, and i followed the recipe as it is and it came out beautiful, it's delicious. Don't change anything on the recipe its just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megandme
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Way too sweet and rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotspunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Excellent! As others suggested, i baked this in an 8x11 glass pan and used the short bread crust recipe. It turned out perfect! I also did not have any coconut on hand so left it out and threw in a few crushed walnuts... it was great with those changes too! I served it right out of the oven and it was way too hot, so let it cool slightly before serving. I didn't have any ice cream nor whipping cream when I first served it and it does need one or the other! i liked it cold the next day as well... great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I'm pretty tough with recipes and only keep ones that make me gush, and this was one of them! It was sooo good. I am a brownie-lover so this was fantastic for me! One thing I would prefer is a little more solidity; it was runny even baked at 45 minutes. I think I will pop it in the fridge next time for a little bit, or even add 1-2 extra eggs so that it holds a bit of form while still remaining fudgy. However, my other brownie-loving friend said it was perfect as is, because it was like eating raw brownie dough. I served it with vanilla ice cream. It was fabulous! I will definitely make this again, and that says a lot as I have tried MANY recipes that were good, but just not good enough to remain in my recipe box. Props to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I looked up all the ingredients we had on hand and found this amazing recipe! I've definitely found another recipe to help use up the buckets of pecans my kids collect every year. Definitely let it set for a while or it'll have to be scooped out. Yummy either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was really good but really rich. Serving with whipped cream or ice cream is needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love chocolate, coconut, and pecans and therefore chose this recipe. It did not disappoint. I made it exactly as the recipe is written. It's very easy and takes only a few minutes to put together. Everyone loved it...even my nieces who are very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States