Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I make this meal in the crockpot. I omit the oil and tripple the marinade recipe, and use a beef roast (any cut is perfectly fine). I let it cook on low until it is tender enough to shred (flipping every few hours if the roast isn't covered), and then I put the meat back in with the juices for another hour or 2. This is WONDERFUL!!! it tastes just like the Carne Asada you would get at an authentic taco stand! We make it all the time! The first time I made it we were stationed in Germany, and the store didnt have any of the chili's or the right kind of cheese, so instead I just make a simple onion and tomato salsa, and we use regular shredded cheese. Now that we are back in the states, I am hoping to try the other parts to this recipe as well, but I am still having a hard time finding the other ingredients (we're in a small town, but until then, my family is more than happy having it the way we usually do. If your in doubt, I urge you to try this recipe! I promise it won't be the last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was excellent! I used Braggs liquid aminos instead of the soy sauce, and marinated it overnight. Even my picky boyfriend love it, & said the recipe was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It's not bad, I guess. I thought it was a lot of effort, the cheese was overpowering, and the sauce was not very distinctive. I'll stick to my local taco truck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is pretty good! I definitely overcooked the beef, though that is my fault in taking the idea of waiting until "most of the liquid has evaporated" too literally. Everything tasted dark--a little pico de gallo brightened it up. Would happily make again, but won't be dying to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
TURNED OUT GREAT! USED ROUND STEAK AND POUNDED IT VERY THIN. MARINTATED OVERNIGHT, COOKED ON GRILL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is hands down the best carne asada ever! Our friends rave about it. I live in a small town with no less than 15 authentic Mexican food restaruants... they need this recipe because none of them make anything close to this good!!! We are staying home for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! Tons of flavor, even if you don't marinate the meat for a long time. I added more garlic (since I grow my own) and less soy sauce (too salty). No white pepper, just coarse grind black pepper. With fresh guacamole and tomatoes from the garden, it's taco heaven! Even my guy (who is not a big fan of Mexican food) thought this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I used a pork butt roast instead of flank or skirt steak. I doubled the amount of marinade for my 3.5 lb roast, but only used single amount of olive oil. Marinated 2-3 hours in a ziplock bag, turning every 30+ minutes. I then placed the roast pieces in a dutch oven. Using a can of beef broth & half the left over marinade, I poured this over the roast in the dutch oven. After 4 hours in a 285 degree oven, the roast shredded to perfection and was muy delicioso in our tacos! Will make burritos tonight with the left overs or BBQ beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This recipe is GREAT. I didn't change ingredients at all. I mixed the dry spices together and used them like a rub. Let the meat sit overnight and then added the liquids like a marinade early in the morning. Grill outside to sear and then wrap in foil and bake low(250) for 3 hrs. The meat is so tender this way. Love it! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: Westport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States