Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It's very nice to see Mexico's tacos are starting to get close to authentic recipes shared on the internet. Almost a decade ago after my first trip to Mexico City in 04, I came home thinking about nothing but the tacos.... Everything else was easy enough, onions check, cilantro check, corn tortillas check, fresh made salsa verde check (or the hot red salsa if you prefer) limes check, salt check, glass bottle coca cola check, but could't find a marinade recipe to save my life at the time. Even trying to google queries translated to spanish gave me nothing to work with. I was living in a heavily hispanic populated area of my city, the "Mexican-American" people that I talked to either had no clue how to marinate and season pork or beef to get an authentic Mexican taco meat, or just didn't want to let the desperate pale German in on their culture's secret recipes! Now there is a lot more on the internet written on how to season & marinate, thank god. A good taco recipe? yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Fantastic! I made this for supper club and am not even there yet...i hope this meat makes it over there without me eating it all. I did the suggested edits of decreasing the vinegar and doing the half/half soy sauce. I accidentally added the juice of two limes when I was following the edit of using orange and lemon juice. But, it has a really great flavor, a little strong on the citrus side (my fault). I do think this tastes like some of the tacos I've had from the taco truck. I also made the onion/cilantro/lime side which I have not tried as I cannot eat raw onion, and I made the roasted veg salsa. My edit: I BBQ'd the veggies. I chopped the tomato, left the garlic whole, quartered onion as directed, but sliced the jalapenos down the middle and only deseeded one of them. I left some of the seeds in the New Mexico chilis and my first taste of this is HOT! I love it! I will no longer be buying the salsa taquera from Herdez...it is that good. (Ok, I'm lying, I love the salsa taquera) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Tried it and loved it! Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
OMG. This is the recipe I was looking for. Did everything exact. I marinated for 4 hrs. Cooked to medium ish. Sliced and let my guests do their thing. Everyone loved it. This is now my go to recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love these tacos. I eat them every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Wonderful! I followed the recipe for the marinade and let it sit overnight in the fridge. Then hubby grilled on the BBQ. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I reduced the vinegar to about 1/4 cup and grilled the steak instead of frying it. Also, I used my own salsa and guacamole. Next time I will let the steak marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Very 'authentic' Mexican flavors. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Felt like we were in Mexico! So fresh & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I have made the meat several times for work potlucks. To make it easy, I just take Spanish or Mexican rice to eat it with instead of all the taco fixings. Everyone has always loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States