Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was one of my first attempts at tacos. I loved the roasted tomato, onion, garlic and jalepeno sauce! The marinade in this recipe made the meat very flavorful, however I am trying to nail the taste of real, authentic Tijuana-style tacos. Every recipe I've tried so far overdoes the marinade. The marinade should give the meat a little bit of zing, IMO, but if you overdo it you will overpower the charbroiled beef flavor. Let the condiments give the tacos their tangy zip. If anyone has a recipe that more closely resembles the authentic Tijuana style I'd love to try it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmooveTaste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have made this dish several times now and everyone always likes it!! I double the liquids and add the seasonings to a plastic bag with the meat to marinate overnight. Then I add the marinated meat with the marinade to the crock pot and let it simmer on low for 4 hours or so, then remove from the crock pot, shred the meat, and then return it to the crock pot for another hour or so. I add fresh garlic as well!! The meat soaks up the marinade! Guaranteed not to be dry!! These aren't authentic carne asada tacos--carna asada is grilled, but they are still delicious!! 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Tried this today and my very first Carne Asada turned out great! I cooked the meat medium-rare and it was tender and delicious! Thanks a lot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkArmenia
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Fan FREAKING Tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
followed recipe to the T.The meat/marinade was amazing as well as the relish! We did not much care for the thick salsa stuff so we will not bother with that next time,will just use hot sauce. We will definatly be making this again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Don't know if it is authentic or not, but it sure is good. Again, to all those that "add this", "reduce that", "omit that", you are not rating the recipe, but rather your own. In any case, this recipe is great as is. You can just as easily sub other meats if you don't care for flank steak. Grilled over mesquite is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was the bomb, used rib eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have made this several times in the slow cooker, and it is always a hit! The slow cooker shreds the beef for you and the flavor really sets in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
So good, my husband loved it. Brought salsa to lunchen came back with none:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
What a great recipe! So full of flavor I can't even describe!! This is a keeper - thank you! For anyone wondering whether or not to try, just do it, the reviews don't lie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States