Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was a delicious meal. I made it last night and my family loved it. Especially my husband. The roasted veggie puree was delicious and so easy to make. I wanted to use the puree like a salsa and dip chips into it but I didn't have any. Next time. This may be my new salsa recipe as well as taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Really good. Made these for a few neighbors and the adults and kids ate them up! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is fantastic! We make this all the time! Very flavorful and gets rave comments from guests as well. We slice up the flank steak into 1" strips before we marinade it. The accompanying tomato/onion relish is very tasty, too. A time-saving tip is to make a larger amount of the dry ingredients and save it. We also slice a LARGE amount of flank steak at once, place into Ziploc bags a freeze. The meat marinades as it freezes and as it thaws. Great to have at the ready since this is so popular at our house. Making it for Cinco de Mayo as always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I only used this recipe for the meat marinade, I did not make the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Followed the marinade as written and it was EXACTLY what I wanted to eat! Cooked the meat on the BBQ grill and served with fresh guacamole, fresh pico and a lime cilantro rice. Loved these so much, can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Quite bland and not worth the time and effort to put into it. I tried a different recipe that was less time consuming and a lot more tasty. I thought with the extra ingredients that this recipe would be even better but instead it was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Perfect as is do not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Great blend of dry spices in this recipe. I use them to flavor just about any meat when I want a Mexican flavor, e.g. ground beef, pork, chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Broomhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love this recipe. I once had the cantina taco at Taco Bell when they were serving it and of course was not very impressed, but felt it COULD be a great recipe if done correctly. This recipe is almost perfect in my opinion. I did do a few here and theres and it turned out great. Like a lot of users I substituted the flank steak for a higher grade meat and opted to use a sirloin. Marinated the steak for a couple of hours in the sauce, but added some fresh oregano, parsley, ginger, and Worcestershire sauce. After the marinade was done I cooked it correctly on the grill (room temp, seared, flip once, let stand 10 mins before cutting) instead of in a pan. I felt the whole meal was great, but lacked a little crunch. It was mostly soft mush, tiny crunch from the onion, and a firm bite from the steak. To fix this I thought for a while and decided to try a vinegar based slaw to give it that bite. It worked wonderfully as the vinegar worked well with the marinade and gave it a little more substance. Seriously after I did this I was shocked how well it tasted. Don't forget the limes on the side to drizzle each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mknight5888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I've been looking for a good carne asada recipe for years, this is THE BEST! I was worried for a little while while it was cooking, but just let the liquid cook down and you get this great thickened sauce that coats it and just shredds in your mouth, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States