Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was absolutely excellent. I used the marinade and the roasted veg salsa. I had to spice up the salsa as I found it pretty bland. Added some chili powder and cumin along with salt and pepper. The only change I made to the marinade was no salt...there is plenty in the soy to go around. The meat was awesome...served with the roasted veg salsa, guacmole, little sour cream and valentino hot sauce....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Meat had a great flavor. Sliced after cooking to preserve the juices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Don't let the reviewers scare you! This is really good. Of course I am from Indiana so I can't speak for authentic Mexican recipes, but if you are looking for a good flank steak recipe or steak taco recipe this is really good! Most reviews I read couldn't believe there was soy sauce in this but I made it as is and it tastes great! We made the relish but used regular salsa and shredded cheddar jack, sour cream and jalapeno peppers, and flour tortillas. Mexican rice and re-fried beans on the side-yum:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Second time was the charm. I had some white pepper this time and we keep the reduced sodium soy sauce around. I ran the marinade through the Vita Mix before added the doubled recipe to six pounds of flap meat. It soaked for around five hours, last hour or more out of the fridge. Cut the salt if you use regular soy sauce. I will probably cut out half of the salt next time. It was right at the edge, anymore salt would have been too much. Be prepared for smoke off the grill with the oil on the meat. We have made the skirt steak/ flap meat tacos many times but this batch was the tenderest and least dry batch ever. I used more Jalapenos in the sauce but gutted them to reduce heat. More flavor less heat. We made additional salsa which was the final touch to finish them off. Puya chilies prepared the same way the New Mexico Chilies are prepared, then added to cooked Tomatillos and roasted garlic or raw your choice. The Vita mix grinds it up nicely, and cilantro is a nice choice, but you already have cilantro, onion, and lime mix. Chili Arbol if you want a little heat. This sauce really made the flavor great. The sauce will be dark red to orange if you have used enough chilies. Be sure to thoroughly cook Tomatillos before grinding the sauce. You may prefer the Puya Tomatillos sauce. My neighbor from Mexico introduced me to this sauce. They would use the stone bowl and pestel to grind the chilies. Vita Mix is easier but it makes the sauce less chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
we loved this best iv ever made couple alterations but fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I only tried the marinade part for the steak but it is my absolute new favorite way to make tacos! Absolutely delicious steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Helps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
First off- the golden star of the night- the salsa was superb. I had guests over and they were hovering around the salsa, leaving for a few seconds, and coming back again. I roasted sweet Vidalias as the white onions, vine tomatoes (not plum)- left seeds in- didn't make a difference and I hate seeds- just for specifics. The carne asada mix seemed really good, but it was not as powerful as I wanted it to be- not garlicky enough? The meat was marinated for over 8 hours, but it just didn't develop the type of aggressive, meaty flavor I expected, especially from using the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Best tacos ever! Forgot the jalapeno and couldn't find the dried New Mexico chile pods, but it was still awesome. Flank steak is still on sale, so we're going to buy more and make this again with the jalepeno. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These tacos rock! All the flavors work well together. I used goat cheese instead and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I think this is an excellant marinade for beef. The only thing i did different was made the spices ti 1 1/2 times the amount and added the zest of one line. I marinated some top sirloin staeks i needed to cook for 2 days and grilled it to medium and sliced it in thin slices and ate it on flour tortillas. This tome i am going to marinate a tri tip roast for three days and roast it and slice thin. I love this marinade and will be using it quite often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States