Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is my family's favorite meal! In their eyes there is no better taco and I have a 7 and 4 year olds. Over the many times I have made this sometimes I cut out a lot of the extras and just use the meat marinade. The meat is perfect and really tastes best using flank steak. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So delicious. My whole family loved it, i really love how all the spices work amazing together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I made this for the first time tonight trying to replicate a taco stand here in town that the kids love. It was almost an exact match. I didn't have white vinegar, rather apple cider vinegar and it may have even been better. The only other changes I made were to halve the oil and used low sodium soy sauce. The relish is absolutely amazing and I will double it next time. Also, I didn't make the salsa. Just seemed like too much work for an every day meal but perhaps if I make this for company I will make that effort. Overall amazing. Do not let the list of ingredients deter you. I had everything in my pantry and it was literally a minute or two to grab them all out and dump them in a plastic bag for the marinade. The kids ate every bit of it and it was a nice change from the tacos I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These are the only tacos for my family. The cilantro relish I add a dash of salt to taste. I use it also for tilapia, they're the only fish tacos my wife will eat now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
That was the first taco recipe I tried from this site and found it brilliant. Thanks for sharing it with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This marinade is amazing! To keep it simple I didn't actually follow the rest of the instructions, so my rating isn't entirely fair. But I figured there might be other folks who just want to keep it simple sometimes. I marinaded for 8 hours or so and then grilled the meat and cut into chunks for tacos. So yummy! I also halved the marinade since I only had about 1 1/2 lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
It was wonderful. I skipped the topping and we grilled it, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe. I doubled everything because I was feeding a crowd. People loved it and there was nothing left at the end of the night. Don't worry about the soy-sauce--it actually adds a bit of rich tangyness to the flavour of the meat. In fact, I didn't have enough soy-sauce, so I added a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and it gave it the meat even more depth. I let the meat marinate in the fridge for 8 hours, drained the marinade and boiled it down a bit. After that, I put the meat and the reduced marinade into a slow cooker for another 8 hours. At the end of the 8 hours I took everything out, drained the meat from the liquid (there's a lot!) and then shredded the beef. It was tender and extremely flavourful. The way I did it was time-consuming but not difficult. I didn't make the salsa featured in this receipe--just made a simple pico de gallo salsa instead. I'm definitely going to be making this recipe again and will give the salsa a shot next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious. Just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
AMAZING! Have made many times. Always a hit. Marinate overnight. Definitely make the lime, onion, cilantro relish. Serve with good quality pico de gallo, sliced avocados, the lime onion relish, and a chipotle sour cream sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States