Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
AMAZING! Have made many times. Always a hit. Marinate overnight. Definitely make the lime, onion, cilantro relish. Serve with good quality pico de gallo, sliced avocados, the lime onion relish, and a chipotle sour cream sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I only made the marinade in this recipe. The carne asada came out very tasty! My family really liked this. It's kind of a lot of ingredients and a little time consuming putting it all together but, it was well worth it. The flavor was great. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
OMG this is delicious!!! I followed exactly except marinaded for 24 hrs overnight. Used 3.5 lbs of meat and it made 10 large fajitas (2 per person) Served with green peppers and onions sautéed with cumin, garlic powder and chili powder. and then fresh chopped onions and cilantro, etc. Grilled for about 12-14 min on low (after wiping down meat with paper towel before putting on grill to reduce flare ups). Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We have made this recipe so many times, I can't even count anymore! This is AWESOME! I do the marinade and give instructions to everyone to "poke the meat" with a fork and turn it over every time you pass it until grilling time. Then its my son's job to be the grill master. One important thing to remember about flank steak is to not over-grill it. a little rare-ish is better. Then chop it in small cubes for the tacos. My husband loves the fact that he can kick back with a cerveza and watch the magic happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Everything about the actual marinade and meat was delicious. Except the corn tortillas. Awful mistake. Should have stuck with flour ones. They were so dry that we ended up just piling the meat and other items on a plate and eating it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummy! And I agree, not difficult at all. A definite repeater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
O.m.g. these are too die for and they are totally worth the work. I do alter the numbers of pepper pods and jalapeños because my kids (2 and 8) don't like it to spicy. These are superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
i love this recipe and i have been using it for 5 years. but i can not get the the salsa to turn out right... i know what it is supposed to look like because i grew up on taco truck! mine is dark and like a paste. i have tried putting more water i have tried putting more tomatoes please help any suggestions appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Not bad! I've had my eye on this recipe for a while, but the seemingly lengthy prep involved kept me at bay. To my pleasant surprise, I discovered that this comes together rather quickly if you make this in steps (so don't let the marinating, toasting, blending and chopping scare you away!). Although tasty, I really do wish I would have used flap or skirt steak tho.... I was hoping for a taco similar to my local taqueria's beef tacos, but this was only slightly like theirs. HOWEVER, leftover meat was the BEST part of this recipe (and was the makings of SUPER yummy empanadas)!!! While I'm not sure I'd make these tacos again, the meat / marinade is a winner in my book. Thanks for sharing, STANICKS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States